SUBSCRIBE | NEWSLETTERS | MAPS | VIDEOS | BLOGS | MARKETPLACE | CONTESTS
TRY BACKPACKER FREE!
SUBSCRIBE NOW and get
2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

Backpacker Magazine – Online Exclusive

Video Gear Review: Hennessy Hammock Ultralite

For the ultralighter who doesn't need a tent this updated hammock makes for a comfy camp.



ALL READERS COMMENTS

Jimmy
Nov 19, 2013

Nice article and the reviews are helpful. Thanks for posting.

BEN SMITH
Apr 03, 2013

I HAVE BOTH THE HENNESSY AND ENO I LOVE BOTH BUT I GET COLD AND NEITHER INSULATION SET UPS ARE PRICED RIGHT FOR ME but i still will pick this over any ground tent

Captain
Jan 30, 2013

Use mine on a nine month moto-tour. Very comfortable and quick to set up. Where there are trees theres wood for your fire and waters not far away. Wonderful sleeping on a clear night without the rain cover counting the shooting stars. Packs to half the size of competitive tents. I use a quick realise knots and carabiner and collapse the whole thing including sleeping bag into a compression sack. takes longer to get the bag off my bike then to set up.
http://tobymacgregor.blogspot.co.uk/

Tony Mancini
Jan 11, 2012

I live in Nova Scotia, Canada. We camp year round with the Hennessy Hammock. They are light to carry and take up little space in your bag. They are extremely comfortable and easy to put up. A trick we use for winter camping is placing reflective windshield protector design for trucks under your sleeping bag. Along with a winter sleeping bag this allows you to sleep in the coldest of winter conditions. Hennessy also sells reflectors made for the hammock.

hammocker
Dec 31, 2011

1. you can sleep on your side
2. take a pad or underquilt and you won't be cold
3. no, you don't have to be bent in a banana
4. no, you won't fall out or sway a lot in wind
5. no, you can avoid bugs, many have a bugnet
6. no, you won't get wet - that's what a tarp is for.
7. there is even a hammock for stomach sleepers...

Jeff
Dec 31, 2011

@Dwaine,

I have one and I'm a side sleeper. It's perfectly comfortable and I lie flat once I get it stretched out along the asymmetric axis. Fantastic hammock!

Anne
Dec 29, 2011

I backpacked the Appalachian Trail from Front Royal to the TN. border and used only a Hennessy Hammock all the way. I did it when I was 56 years old. We met two others on the trail, 63 and 57, and they too were using Hennessy Hammocks. We all agreed, the best nights sleep in the world...and LIGHT WEIGHT! Plus, you can hang it anywhere. We found choice spots to set up camp because we didn't need flat ground. I wouldn't use anything else. Now, I'm backpacking the PCT and find it works just as well on the West coast as the East coast. If you're still using a tent...oh, well.

Dwaine
Dec 28, 2011

Thanks for the review.
For more information and pictures for the Hennessy ...including advantages and disadvantages check out www.destinationoutside.com

Joe Flowers- reviewer
Dec 28, 2011

I wish he had shown himself in the supine position particularly on his side. I would suppose the hammock uncomfortable when sleeping on one's side. And I wish he had shown getting into a sleeping bag. It seems that would be a struggle.
What does one do with one's pack at night?
Richard.



Dear Richard. I tried to get some shots like that, but they were impossible with just the tripod! Thanks for the input and I will definitely try that next time. It is far easier to use a quilt system in a hammock

Bruce
Dec 28, 2011

Love Hennessy hammocks! Been using an A-Sym since it came out about 10 years ago and havent slept on the ground since. Best sleep I get outdoors! With the bottom added sleeve (for holding reflective blanket and foam mat) works well in winter as well. The A-Sym wore out and have the new side zip. Biggest challenge is in BWCA finding spots for 3 hammocks for us all.

Sarge BSA
Dec 28, 2011

Love my Hennessy makes all the guys in the troop jealous.

Bruce
Dec 28, 2011

Love Hennessy hammocks! Been using an A-Sym since it came out about 10 years ago and havent slept on the ground since. Best sleep I get outdoors! With the bottom added sleeve (for holding reflective blanket and foam mat) works well in winter as well. The A-Sym wore out and have the new side zip. Biggest challenge is in BWCA finding spots for 3 hammocks for us all.

Bruce
Dec 28, 2011

Love Hennessy hammocks! Been using an A-Sym since it came out about 10 years ago and havent slept on the ground since. Best sleep I get outdoors! With the bottom added sleeve (for holding reflective blanket and foam mat) works well in winter as well. The A-Sym wore out and have the new side zip. Biggest challenge is in BWCA finding spots for 3 hammocks for us all.

larrybell
Dec 28, 2011

I have slept in a hammock for many years. I actually use both a tent and a hammock...just depends on the terrain I will be in. I use a sleeping bag and ground pad under for added support at keeping the hammock wide and for warmth from the wind that will travel across your back or side. The only thing that gets cold are my arms on the side walls of the hammock. I love the ultra lite aspect as well as no need for a level place to get some rest. And the 5 minute setup AND breakdown! My hammock has a zipper on both sides and a rainfly/ As for the question on what to do with your pack....I always hang my back on a tree. At the right height it makes it easy access for whatever I need to fetch or stow. typically I cover the bag with its rain cover. I've been trekking for a long time and have yet to get a critter in a hanging pack.

Jason
Dec 27, 2011

I've been using my hammock for a while now and I've decided to give it up. My hiking buddy and I can't seem to stay warm in our hammocks (not together). We use sleeping bags and pads, but we still get cold. I love my hammock, but I love staying warm more. So now it's back to the ground.

Buckaroomedic
Dec 27, 2011

@Richard,

Sleeping on one's side is actually very comfortable in a Hennessy hammock. Significantly more comfortable than trying to sleep on your side on the ground. The hammock really supports your body very evenly.

Getting into a sleeping bag is not too difficult with the new side zipper. It really helps if your bag's zipper is on the same side as the hammock's zipper. One would basically just lay out the opened sleeping bag in the hammock and just climb into it while getting into the hammock. A lot of "hangers" don't even use sleeping bags, they use either an over or under quilt (or both when it's cold).

Give it a try, you might like it.

Richard
Dec 27, 2011

I wish he had shown himself in the supine position particularly on his side. I would suppose the hammock uncomfortable when sleeping on one's side. And I wish he had shown getting into a sleeping bag. It seems that would be a struggle.
What does one do with one's pack at night?

Richard
Dec 27, 2011

I wish he had shown himself in the supine position particularly on his side. I would suppose the hammock uncomfortable when sleeping on one's side. And I wish he had shown getting into a sleeping bag. It seems that would be a struggle.
What does one do with one's pack at night?

SR1355
Dec 27, 2011

Gotta love my hammock, not been on the ground since finding hammock camping. From car camping to week long back packing trips in the mountains way more comfortable that my old tent and pad... Check out www.hammockforums.net for a wealth of information...

zug
Dec 27, 2011

I bought one of these a few years ago and love it. it has held up great too with no need for repairs (yet). Very comfortable, don't even use a pillow.

Jerzybears
Dec 24, 2011

No you wont be frustrated, you will never sleep on the ground again!! Invest in a good underquilt from any number of cottage industries available on line and you will be as snug as a bug in a rug. For more information on the joys of hammock camping check out hammockforums.com

ADD A COMMENT

Your rating:
Your Name:

Comment:

Go
View all Gear
Find a retailer