SUBSCRIBE | NEWSLETTERS | MAPS | VIDEOS | BLOGS | MARKETPLACE | CONTESTS
TRY BACKPACKER FREE!
SUBSCRIBE NOW and get
2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

Also on Backpacker.com


Enter Zip Code

Backpacker Magazine – October 2008

6 Sweet Sleeping Bags

From ultra-warm to ultralight, here are the year's best-performing bags in every category.

by: Shannon Davis, photos by Brooks Freehill

PAGE 1 2 3 4 5 6
Mountain Hardwear Phantom 15.
Mountain Hardwear Phantom 15.
REI Polar Pod
REI Polar Pod
Exped Arctic Goose WB
Exped Arctic Goose WB
Big Agnes Nugget 45
Big Agnes Nugget 45
MontBell Ultralight Alpine Downhugger #5
MontBell Ultralight Alpine Downhugger #5
Marmot EcoPro
Marmot EcoPro

3-Season | Bargain | Winter | Waterproof | Summer | Green

Winter
Exped Arctic Goose WB

If you lose sleep in this -15°F-rated bag, it won't be because you're cold. "In conditions where other bags have left me miserable, this one was as warm as my down comforter at home–even when an inch-deep puddle of slush accumulated under me," said a Minnesota tester after a late-winter trip into the Boundary Waters. Another tester slept warm down to -25°F in the Adirondack High Peaks. Welded seams and a Pertex Endurance shell protect the ultra-lofty 750-fill down and make it functionally waterproof in frigid temps. An additional Pertex Endurance layer inside the hood keeps condensed breath from soaking the feathers. An external storm flap on the zipper seals out drafts, the hood cinches down to blowhole size, and the interior is roomy enough to accommodate extra layers, inner boots, and fuel canisters. Reader Service #105

> Sizes 75"/83"
> Rating -15°F
> Weight 4 lbs. 10 oz.
> Price $540
> Info outdoorresearch.com

Lighter: GoLite's Adrenaline 0 earned an Editors' Choice Award (April 2008) for weight-saving features like a center zip, efficient cut, and lofty 800-fill down. $400; 0°F; 2 lbs. 12 oz.; golite.com. Reader Service #106

gear finder


gear finder
FULL PRODUCT SPECS: Women's Phantom 15

gear finder
FULL PRODUCT SPECS: Polar Pod +20


PAGE 1 2 3 4 5 6

Subscribe to Backpacker magazine
Sign up for our free weekly e-newsletter
Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip:
Email (req):
Reader Rating: -

READERS COMMENTS

Star Star Star Star Star
Holiday Hiking
Sep 10, 2013

Holiday Hiking in the southern part of the asia continent there lays a tiny rectangular kingdom squeezed between two hugely populated countries, China to the north and India to the south, this country is Nepal a world of its own. Holiday Hiking is a type of tourism, involving exploration or travel to remote, exotic and possibly hostile areas. Holiday Hiking is rapidly growing in popularity, as tourists seek different kinds of vacations. The land of contrast is presumably the exact way to define the scenery of Nepal for you will find maximum world highest peaks high high up above the clouds determined for the gods above. Straight, active and attractive learning experience Holiday Hiking that engross the whole person and have real Hiking Mt. Everest, Kanchenjunga, Daulagiri, and Annapurna and many more are there for the offering for mountain-lovers, Hiking and travelers.
http://www.holidayhiking.com

Star Star Star Star Star
http://www.jersey2shopsale.com
May 17, 2013

new nfl jersey cheap, 2013 new nfl jersey sale, nfl jersey 2013, cheap baseball jerseys
http://www.jersey2shopsale.com/
sf giants jersey cheap, baseball jersey for sale, wholesale nba jerseys, wholesale nhl jerseys,
http://www.jersey2shopsale.com/Nike-NFL-Jerseys-c124/
wholesale nike nfl jerseys, new nfl jersey wholesale
http://www.jersey2shopsale.com/MLB-Jerseys-c94/
cheap mlb jerseys, cheap nhl jersey
http://www.jersey2shopsale.com/NBA-Jerseys-c77/
cheap nba jerseys, wholesale mlb jersey, cheap nhl jerseys

Star Star Star Star Star
Trekking in Nepal
Mar 01, 2013

Acute Trek Pvt Ltd an indoor outdoor trekking and tours operative takes you that further way to guarantee you has an unforgettable adventure that you have been dream of. Whether you are looking for a quiet gateway, a memorable outing with a family or an exciting nature adventure. We, Acute Trek Pvt Ltd are here to offer you with the best progressive information and itinerary leading focused and modified as per your requirements. Acute trek is an attempt to encourage Nepal to the exterior world while striving to defend an aged tradition as well as conserve the surroundings for generation to come.
http://www.trekshimalaya.com
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/trekking_in_nepal.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/teahouse_trek.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/kathmandu_pokhara_tour.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/high_pass_treks.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/luxury_tour.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/helicopter_tour.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/annapurna_region.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/annapurna_base_camp.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/annapurna_panorama.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/ghorepani_trekking.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/jomsom_muktinath_trekking.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/annapurna_circuit_trekking.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/tilicho_lake_mesokunto_pass.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/upper_mustang_trekking.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/everest_region.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/everest_base_camp.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/everest_panoramic_trekking.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/gokyo_trekking.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/gokyo_trek_everest_base_camp.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/renjolatrek.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/everest_kongmala_trek.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/three_pass_trekking.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/everest_trekking_fr_jiri.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/langtang_region.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/langtang_trekking.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/gosaikunda_trekking.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/helambhu_trekking.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/tamang_heritage.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/chisapani_nagarkot_dhulikhel_trekking.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/cultural_treks.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/langtang_gosaikunda_trekking.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/ganjala_trekking.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/peak_climbing_in_nepal.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/peak_climbing.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/high_pass_treks.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/nepal_for_all_season.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/package_tour.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/island_peak.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/mera_peak.php
http://www.trekshimalaya.com/pisang_peak.php
http://www.adventurestrekking.com
http://www.adventurestrekking.com/mustang-trekking.php
http://www.adventurestrekking.com/upper-mustang-trekking.php
http://www.adventurestrekking.com/lower-mustang-trekking.php
http://www.adventurestrekking.com/package-tour.php
http://www.adventurestrekking.com/annapurna-trekking.php
http://www.adventurestrekking.com/annapurna-base-camp-trekking.php
http://www.adventurestrekking.com/everest-trekking.php
http://www.adventurestrekking.com/gokyo-trek.php
http://www.adventurestrekking.com/langtang-trekking.php
http://www.adventurestrekking.com/tea-house-trek.php
http://www.adventurestrekking.com/three-pass-trek.php
http://www.hikingsinnepal.blogspot.com

Phil R
Dec 30, 2010

I have had a Phantom 15 for about 6 years. The down on the bottom got thin and created a huge cold spot on the back. I ended up washing it (quite a procedure to wash a down bag) and spent time getting the down redistributed properly. Now the bag works as designed. My zipper sticks more than any other bag I have ever owned. To me the secret to staying warm is a good insulated ground pad. I use a Big Agnes Insulated Air Core covered with a thin closed cell foam pad. The foam pad is now one of my essentials!

Frank
Mar 31, 2010

" makes it better suited to back sleepers than to side sleepers." Are you crazy ?!? The Big Agnes bags are MADE for us side and stomach sleepers. With a big Agnes 2.5 inch pad in the sleeve, you can lay on your side or stomach and there are no pressure points, and as you toss and turn the bags stays put!

Bob J Perkins
Dec 11, 2008

I love every sleeping bag that keeps me off the cold hard ground. "RANGER UP" and stop your complaining.

PT
Dec 08, 2008

Here, Here to Nov 26, 2008 Richard: I bought my first Wiggy's bag in 88. Easy to care for and served me well for almost ten years in the Army. Far dirtier and rougher conditions than I ever got backpacking.

ashe
Dec 08, 2008

i own one of REI polar pods and i love it! although the review lists the roomier fit as a downside, i'm 6'1" and 230+ lbs and the generous fit is a hit with me. i mostly use my abg for camping and over-night stays away from home, but i've tested the bag down to mid 40's and stayed very comfortable.

Eric B.
Dec 06, 2008

I dunno. I once bought a Mtn. Hardware Phantom 32 from REI. Got it home & realized it had WAY too little loft. Took it back & went to another source and, for another $100., bought a Western Mountaineering Megalight that, by my test, kept me warm in a breezy TarpTent Contrail on a 22F night. I wore thin poly long johns & medium socks.

So I'm a bit skeptical of Mtn. Hardware claims for their down bags. That said I have a Mt'n. Hdwr. -20 Polarguard Delta bag that IS good at that temperature.

Doug
Dec 04, 2008

I bet my old army surplus down bag, at $45.00 is just as warm! it has a waterproof bottom. check out sportmans guide.com for much thriftier prices.

Jam
Nov 28, 2008

While I'm sure the Exped bag is a nice piece of equipment, the Moutain Hardwear Lyell -15F down bag weighs about a pound less at half the price (I got mine for $265 thru Campmor). It too has a waterproof-breathable (Conduit) shell.

Richard
Nov 26, 2008

With no mention of Wiggy's- certainly at the very least one of the best around-I doubt your surveys even more. Wiggy's bags are a bit on the bulky side, but other than that they are clearly one of the best--esp. for wet conditions.
R Dubiel

Dennis
Nov 26, 2008

How did the reviewer had an inch-deep puddle of slush underneath at very cold temperatures? Not frozen?

Semifatboy
Nov 15, 2008

Mr. Myers may I ask which bag you are referring to?

Doug Myers
Nov 01, 2008

I can believe this bag inside a bivy keeping you warm to mid 30's, however going cowboy style you'd freeze. I use a layering system now when sleeping; silk liner, down hugger, bivy and have been able to use this as a three season bag. Also the bivy takes care of any snag issues.

ADD A COMMENT

Your rating:
Your Name:

Comment:

My Profile Join Now

Most recent threads

The Political Arena
Malaysian Airlines Boeing 777 Shot Down
Posted On: Jul 22, 2014
Submitted By: High_Sierra_Fan
Gear
Gear you once poo-pooed but now love?
Posted On: Jul 22, 2014
Submitted By: Ben2World


Go
View all Gear
Find a retailer

Special sections - Expert handbooks for key trails, techniques and gear

Check out Montana in Warren Miller's Ticket to Ride
Warren Miller athletes charge hard and reflect on Big Sky country, their love for this space and the immense energy allotted to the people who reside in Montana.

Boost Your Apps
Add powerful tools and exclusive maps to your BACKPACKER apps through our partnership with Trimble Outdoors.

Carry the Best Maps
With BACKPACKER PRO Maps, get life-list destinations and local trips on adventure-ready waterproof myTopo paper.

FREE Rocky Mountain Trip Planner
Sign up for a free Rocky Mountain National Park trip planning kit from our sister site MyRockyMountainPark.com.

Follow BackpackerMag on Twitter Follow Backpacker on Facebook
Get 2 FREE Trial Issues and 3 FREE GIFTS
Survival Skills 101 • Eat Better
The Best Trails in America
YES! Please send me my FREE trial issues of Backpacker
and my 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Full Name:
City:
Address 1:
Zip Code:
State:
Address 2:
Email (required):
Free trial offer valid for US subscribers only. Canadian subscriptions | International subscriptions