SUBSCRIBE | NEWSLETTERS | MAPS | VIDEOS | BLOGS | MARKETPLACE | CONTESTS
TRY BACKPACKER FREE!
SUBSCRIBE NOW and get
2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

Also on Backpacker.com


Enter Zip Code

Backpacker Magazine – May 2009

Gear Review: MSR E-Bivy

thanks to a durable, polyurethane-coated nylon ground layer and more, this balanced bivy has all the right elements.

by: Kelly Bastone

MSR E-Bivy (Courtesy photo)
MSR E-Bivy (Courtesy photo)

$80
9 oz.
Some bivy sacks are heavier than solo tents; others don't offer enough protection. This one hits the sweet spot, thanks to a durable, polyurethane-coated nylon ground layer and an ultralight silnylon top.

A half-length zipper provides venting and easy exits. I used it as a ground cloth while sleeping under the stars in Colorado National Monument; when a shower passed around 3 a.m., I just slid inside and stayed dry.

Pros: Compact as many emergency blankets, but way more durable and weatherproof.

Cons: It comes packed as small as a Coke can, but you'll never compress it that tiny again (use the 9-by-4-inch stuffsack). msrgear.com

gear finder



Subscribe to Backpacker magazine
Sign up for our free weekly e-newsletter
Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip:
Email (req):
Reader Rating: -

READERS COMMENTS

Bill
Jul 26, 2012

I just bought an E-Bivy today at an Alaskan mountain shop, pulled it out of the stuff sack, tested it out in the shop, and rolled it back down and into the stuff sack again quickly and easily. Either they've started using a slightly larger sack or I'm uncannily good at stuffing it back in.

I haven't incorporated it into my sleep system yet but from my initial test I'm expecting positive results.

chuck
Nov 04, 2010

Question: Is this bivy made for repeated, tough, extended use? It's described as an emergency bivy so I wasn't sure how it stands as a primary bivy.

Jeff Walden
Oct 15, 2010

Believe it or not, it *is* possible to compress this back into its original stuff sack without overflow; I've done it multiple times. (The last time I managed to rip the nylon around the drawstring, however.) Still, doing so requires a take-no-prisoners attitude and ten to fifteen minutes of effort. I haven't practiced enough to say what the minimum time is, but nevertheless I'm certain it'll never be a thirty-second task: you just can't pack this puppy up quickly and completely.

Jerry Boyd
Sep 07, 2009

I used with bivy bag last night under a large silnylon tarp and over a summerweight down sleeping bag. The weather was rain showers, very humid (90% humidity), breezy and 54 degrees F.

Although the top looks thin and very breathable, I awoke to a disturbing amount of insensible perspiration moisture on the inside of the E-bivy's top. I suppose the air was so humid, my body's moisture was condensing on the inside of the sack and could not pass out. The outside of the down bag was wet in large spots. But, I had this problem on and off with another bivy bag.

I'll use the E-bivy again. Hopefully, condensation will not be a problem in drier weather.

Carol Day
Jul 11, 2009

I have one -- no, it doesn't have bug netting.

Mike the Traveler
Jun 19, 2009

Friday 06/19/2009

In answer to your questions:

1. Length 83"

2. Width 33"

3. Girth 64"

4. Interior Height 10" {Whew!! - you better be
slim!!!}

5. Weight 9 OZ

6. Yeah, it has a little bit of netting.

Cordially

Mike the Traveler

keith selbo
Jun 19, 2009

"Looking at this review and on the MSR website, I was not able to see if this bivy has bug netting?"

Me neither. Couldn't even find the dimensions. I downloaded the manual which turned out to be a generic tent manual. Nothing about the bivy. Useless!

Rob Davidson
Jun 17, 2009

Looking at this review and on the MSR website, I was not able to see if this bivy has bug netting?

ADD A COMMENT

Your rating:
Your Name:

Comment:

My Profile Join Now

Most recent threads

Gear
What Should I Do About A Table And Chairs?
Posted On: Aug 30, 2014
Submitted By: hikerjer
Trailhead Register
Who's Working this weekend...?
Posted On: Aug 30, 2014
Submitted By: hikerjer


Go
View all Gear
Find a retailer

Special sections - Expert handbooks for key trails, techniques and gear

Check out Montana in Warren Miller's Ticket to Ride
Warren Miller athletes charge hard and reflect on Big Sky country, their love for this space and the immense energy allotted to the people who reside in Montana.

Boost Your Apps
Add powerful tools and exclusive maps to your BACKPACKER apps through our partnership with Trimble Outdoors.

Carry the Best Maps
With BACKPACKER PRO Maps, get life-list destinations and local trips on adventure-ready waterproof myTopo paper.

FREE Rocky Mountain Trip Planner
Sign up for a free Rocky Mountain National Park trip planning kit from our sister site MyRockyMountainPark.com.

Follow BackpackerMag on Twitter Follow Backpacker on Facebook
Get 2 FREE Trial Issues and 3 FREE GIFTS
Survival Skills 101 • Eat Better
The Best Trails in America
YES! Please send me my FREE trial issues of Backpacker
and my 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Full Name:
City:
Address 1:
Zip Code:
State:
Address 2:
Email (required):
Free trial offer valid for US subscribers only. Canadian subscriptions | International subscriptions