SUBSCRIBE | NEWSLETTERS | MAPS | VIDEOS | BLOGS | MARKETPLACE | CONTESTS
TRY BACKPACKER FREE!
SUBSCRIBE NOW and get
2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

Also on Backpacker.com


Enter Zip Code

Backpacker Magazine – May 2012

Gear Review: GoLite Jam 50 Backpack

A top performing pack that's only $160.

by: Annette McGivney

GoLite Jam 50 (Ben Fullerton)
GoLite Jam 50 (Ben Fullerton)

Ultralight
See all the ultralight pack reviews from May 2012
[best all-around]
Here’s a rare feat: The top performing pack in this test is also the cheapest. “It has the comfort, stability, and support of packs twice its weight,” says one tester. “When I topped out on the rim after a long patrol, I didn’t have the urge to immediately ditch it like some packs.” Besides price, here are the numbers that matter: It carries up to 35 pounds, has the capacity for five days of supplies, and weighs less than two pounds. Key feature: the pliable backpanel, which is made of high-density closed-cell foam*.

The sheet flexes with the torso but is stiff enough to transfer pack weight to the hipbelt. The frameless design doesn’t have the rigid, supportive suspension of the heavier Osprey, but it provides more load control than the other superlight rucksacks in the test. “Carrying five liters of water was no problem,” says one ranger who loaded the Jam’s hydration sleeve with a three-liter bladder and placed bottles in the two mesh side holsters. The drawstring closure (no floating lid) has a nine-inch extension collar that allows overloading. Ranger bonus: The two hipbelt pouches are big enough for handcuffs (or snacks).

Durability ding: The mesh side pockets suffered a nickel-size hole and several more small tears after 20 days in the Canyon.

> Weight 1 lb. 14 oz.
> Capacity 50 liters
> Price $160
> Sizes 3 unisex (16-22.5 in.)
> Info golite.com

*High-density closed-cell: foam A versatile material that offers near-rigid support with cushioned comfort and flex

Subscribe to Backpacker magazine
Sign up for our free weekly e-newsletter
Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip:
Email (req):
Reader Rating: -

READERS COMMENTS

Star
Tom Sexton
Nov 02, 2013

I'm not sure how the tester fitted this pack but I've worn my Jam 50 3 or 4 times now and I've found it to be uncomfortable to the point where I probably will try to get half of I paid for it on eBay (anyone who wants one and can't find one, let me know).
I've carried relatively light day loads and found the direction of pull right down my shoulders to the load. I can't see to get the load Xfered to my waist belt and get the required separation under the shoulder straps.
All I can say is that the mechanics of the pack are not well designed.

Steve Sykes
Oct 16, 2012

I've used the Gregory G Pack for the last 3-4 years and have been very happy with it. It was recommended by Backpacker about 3-4 years ago. I'm not sure why it did not make the list this year.

Wendy
Oct 16, 2012

Tookit on a 4 day hike in NZ and it came through admirably.

Greg
Oct 16, 2012

Why review an it that has not been available all summer and is still out of stock?!

Jana
Oct 16, 2012

I am on the golite.com site now. Suggested retail, $220; sale $131.99

Jeff
Oct 16, 2012

This pack demolishes the idea that ultra-light packs need to feel like a "rucksack"- sagging off your back under any kind of load.
because of the capacity, I now also use it for day hikes when i need to carry my wife's stuff too, allowing her to hike *light*.

Matt White (Whitey)
Oct 16, 2012

I bought this pack and took it on a 5 day in the lost coast. I wasn't particularly easy on the pack but I wasn't harsh on it either. The material had holes at the bottom of the pack that resembled mouse nibbles where it had frayed from sitting the pack down. I sent it back for a full refund but aside from this, the pack was great. Light, able to hold what I needed, and comfortable to wear.

Matt
Oct 16, 2012

Golite sold out of the "Jam" months ago and recently jacked their prices up from $80 each to $132 a pop... Plus they are still out of stock! Not cool.

Jana
Oct 16, 2012

I am on the golite.com site now. Suggested retail, $220; sale $131.99

Jana
Oct 16, 2012

Try $131 on sale at golite.com

George
Oct 16, 2012

The price should be listed as $80. Yes, the MSRP may be twice that, but it's been on sale for over a year now and most items on www.golite.com are constantly on a 50%+ off sale right now.

Richard Davies
Jun 04, 2012

Buy it from golite.com for about $80. What a deal!

ADD A COMMENT

Your rating:
Your Name:

Comment:

My Profile Join Now

Most recent threads

Health and Fitness
2014 fitness updates
Posted On: Aug 22, 2014
Submitted By: RebeccaD
Rocky Mountains
Who Has Plans in the Winds This Year?
Posted On: Aug 22, 2014
Submitted By: OldBill


Go
View all Gear
Find a retailer

Special sections - Expert handbooks for key trails, techniques and gear

Check out Montana in Warren Miller's Ticket to Ride
Warren Miller athletes charge hard and reflect on Big Sky country, their love for this space and the immense energy allotted to the people who reside in Montana.

Boost Your Apps
Add powerful tools and exclusive maps to your BACKPACKER apps through our partnership with Trimble Outdoors.

Carry the Best Maps
With BACKPACKER PRO Maps, get life-list destinations and local trips on adventure-ready waterproof myTopo paper.

FREE Rocky Mountain Trip Planner
Sign up for a free Rocky Mountain National Park trip planning kit from our sister site MyRockyMountainPark.com.

Follow BackpackerMag on Twitter Follow Backpacker on Facebook
Get 2 FREE Trial Issues and 3 FREE GIFTS
Survival Skills 101 • Eat Better
The Best Trails in America
YES! Please send me my FREE trial issues of Backpacker
and my 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Full Name:
City:
Address 1:
Zip Code:
State:
Address 2:
Email (required):
Free trial offer valid for US subscribers only. Canadian subscriptions | International subscriptions