SUBSCRIBE | NEWSLETTERS | MAPS | VIDEOS | BLOGS | MARKETPLACE | CONTESTS
TRY BACKPACKER FREE!
SUBSCRIBE NOW and get
2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

Also on Backpacker.com


Enter Zip Code

Backpacker Magazine – June 2009

Gear Review: GSI DukJug Bottle

This better bottle survives freezing temps, doesn't absorb food smells, and can take a beating.

by: Kristin Hostetter

GSI DukJug (Courtesy photo)
GSI DukJug (Courtesy photo)

The Kitchen Sink
Read More Reviews

Bottle
Upgrade your bottle: This one is made of BPA-free polypropylene, a slightly flexible, rugged material that survived a series of freeze-thaw cycles during winter testing. And it didn't absorb the smell of tabouli when we used it to rehydrate lunch.

The lid is slightly teardrop shaped, making it easy to leverage open, even when it's frozen. And the lid is attached to the bottle via a thin cord, which swivels freely (unlike plastic lid leashes). Bonus: A beltlike indentation around the middle stores six-plus feet of duct tape (you provide), and a rubber sheath protects the tape from peeling and yields a slip-free grip. Comes in two sizes (.75 and 1 liter), as well as a stainless steel version. $8-$9; 6.4 oz. (1 liter); gsioutdoors.com



Subscribe to Backpacker magazine
Sign up for our free weekly e-newsletter
Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip:
Email (req):
Reader Rating: -

READERS COMMENTS

Mcintosh33JOSEFINA
Apr 06, 2012

freelance writer

Errant
Jun 03, 2010

I love these bottles, but the threads on them don't match up with GSI's H2JO coffee filter :(

Erin
Mar 08, 2010

Bought one of these for a cabin trip last November. Love the space-for-duct tape and the silicon grip option, and I'm getting used to the cord connection that keeps the top attached.

However, about a month ago a thin horizontal crack appeared around the very top of the side of the plastic lid : apparently the easier-to-open teardrop shape of the lid made it easier for me to really crank the top closed to make sure it was sealed and the lid's plastic finally gave up at holding itself together at that one spot. So, now it leaks at the top. =[

Otherwise a great bottle: just be nice when closing it if you want the lid to last for more than several months of near-daily constant use.

ScottTheCamper
Aug 27, 2009

Backpackers:

The GSI DukJug bottle is clearly better than the competition's. I've been using one myself and our store has sold TONS of these bottles to many satisfied customers.

Check these out for yourself at http://www.WeDoCampstoves.com/water-bottles

WeDoCampstoves.com... Your leader in providing great outdoor gear with SUPER customer service!

Scott

ADD A COMMENT

Your rating:
Your Name:

Comment:

My Profile Join Now

Most recent threads

Rocky Mountains
Solo Teton Crest
Posted On: Apr 23, 2014
Submitted By: RoonilWazlib
The Political Arena
Am I missing something here?
Posted On: Apr 23, 2014
Submitted By: High_Sierra_Fan


Go
View all Gear
Find a retailer

Special sections - Expert handbooks for key trails, techniques and gear

Check out Montana in Warren Miller's Ticket to Ride
Warren Miller athletes charge hard and reflect on Big Sky country, their love for this space and the immense energy allotted to the people who reside in Montana.

Boost Your Apps
Add powerful tools and exclusive maps to your BACKPACKER apps through our partnership with Trimble Outdoors.

Carry the Best Maps
With BACKPACKER PRO Maps, get life-list destinations and local trips on adventure-ready waterproof myTopo paper.

FREE Rocky Mountain Trip Planner
Sign up for a free Rocky Mountain National Park trip planning kit from our sister site MyRockyMountainPark.com.

Follow BackpackerMag on Twitter Follow Backpacker on Facebook
Get 2 FREE Trial Issues and 3 FREE GIFTS
Survival Skills 101 • Eat Better
The Best Trails in America
YES! Please send me my FREE trial issues of Backpacker
and my 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Full Name:
City:
Address 1:
Zip Code:
State:
Address 2:
Email (required):
Free trial offer valid for US subscribers only. Canadian subscriptions | International subscriptions