SUBSCRIBE | NEWSLETTERS | MAPS | VIDEOS | BLOGS | MARKETPLACE | CONTESTS
TRY BACKPACKER FREE!
SUBSCRIBE NOW and get
2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

Also on Backpacker.com


Enter Zip Code

Backpacker Magazine – June 2010

Small and Sharp: Knife Reviews

Pocket-size tools for every type of camper.

by: Justin Forrester

ESEE Izula (Courtesy Photo)
ESEE Izula (Courtesy Photo)



Subscribe to Backpacker magazine
Sign up for our free weekly e-newsletter
Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip:
Email (req):
Reader Rating: -

READERS COMMENTS

WA Coast backpacker
Jul 27, 2011

I have a Gerber multi tool that's the first thing on my packing checklist. The blade does everything, still as sharp as new, and the pliers and other tools all come in handy. And it has something none of the reviewed knives/tools has -- a scissors for trimming mole skin, tape or whatever else you need to cut to shape. It's heavy, but worth every ounce.

McGuphan
Jul 08, 2011

Esee is a great knife but check out the Esee / Kabar joint project the Eskabar or if you like beer, the Becker Necker from Kabar. That has same blade design and a bottle opener and wire cutter in skeletonized handle. My choice is the Eskabar and the price is better too.

Mark Scherer
Jul 07, 2011

Actually I find that the most valuable knife/tool that I own is the Gerber Artifact. Most multi-tools have things I do not need where the artifact has knife, bottle opener, screwdriver tips built in and pry bar. I can carry a ligth weight plier if needed and thus save significant weight. Also the shape of the artifact curves nicely around your thigh in your pocket so you hardly know it is there.

Anonymous
Jul 05, 2011

The Buck/Hartsook Ultralite is unbelievable... S30V stainless steel (same as Benchmade Osbourne and other tactical knives), quickdraw sheath and lanyard, 0.5 oz! If you want extreme weight reduction, immaculate steel, ease of use, get this knife. It also comes with a different steel (don't get that one). Here's the S30V one... http://www.buckknives.com/index.cfm?event=product.detail&productID=3563

Ian
Jul 05, 2011

The Buck/Hartsook Ultralite is unbelievable... S30V stainless steel (same as Benchmade Osbourne and other tactical knives), quickdraw sheath and lanyard, 0.5 oz! If you want extreme weight reduction, immaculate steel, ease of use, get this knife. It also comes with a different steel (don't get that one). Here's the S30V one... http://www.buckknives.com/index.cfm?event=product.detail&productID=3563

Ian
Jul 05, 2011

The Buck/Hartsook Ultralite is unbelievable... S30V stainless steel (same as Benchmade Osbourne and other tactical knives), quickdraw sheath and lanyard, 0.5 oz! If you want extreme weight reduction, immaculate steel, ease of use, get this knife. It also comes with a different steel (don't get that one). Here's the S30V one... http://www.buckknives.com/index.cfm?event=product.detail&productID=3563

TMedina
Apr 18, 2011

Instead of the EVO, check out the CRKT M16-13ZER. It's the knife the Gerber EVO was modeled on and fits comfortably in the hand - I have a big paw and it's a comfortable fit. And I've never had a CRKT come apart on me - a buddy had to return his Gerber two days after buying it.

Scott M. Zacher
Oct 21, 2010

Do you know where I can find Sherper's Knives.My E-mail:Packiey2@NetZero.com

Victoria
Jul 31, 2010

I adore my Gerber Crucial. It has the basics (pliers, knife, 2 screwdrivers) and is very comfortable to carry and use. I would not trade it for anything else

Barry
Jul 18, 2010

I have been a big fan of Leatherman multi-tools for a long time. Have owned a Leatherman Super Tool for years but would not take it on backpacking trips due to the heavy weight. I started carrying the Leatherman Squirt S4 (scissors) and/or P4 (pliers)but either had to carry both which kind of defeated the purpose or decide if the scissors or pliers was more important. Now you don't have to decide, the Leatherman Juice CS4 has both and most everything else a backpacker would want at half the weight of the Super Tool. If the knife blade locked and they added a pair of tweezers it would be the perfect backpacker muulti-tool!

Josh
Jul 16, 2010

I have had a few Benchmade Mel Pardue knives and they are all amazing. Strong, sharp blades, easily open with one hand, positive, safe, lock, beautiful craftsmanship, and sleek design. Love them.

Todd Blonk
Jul 13, 2010

I recommend the Gerber EVO. By far the most knife for the money and the weight. It has a 3.5" titanium nitride coated blade that comes either straight, half serrated or tanto. You can find it online for about $30 and it only weigh's 2.8oz! The handle is not the most comfortable but I will deal with that for the low weight.

Bobo
Jul 02, 2010

Great Guide

ADD A COMMENT

Your rating:
Your Name:

Comment:

My Profile Join Now

Most recent threads

The Political Arena
PTB time is upon us, agree?
Posted On: Aug 30, 2014
Submitted By: Bass
Trailhead Register
Arctic grayling won’t receive federal protection
Posted On: Aug 30, 2014
Submitted By: TravisNWood


Go
View all Gear
Find a retailer

Special sections - Expert handbooks for key trails, techniques and gear

Check out Montana in Warren Miller's Ticket to Ride
Warren Miller athletes charge hard and reflect on Big Sky country, their love for this space and the immense energy allotted to the people who reside in Montana.

Boost Your Apps
Add powerful tools and exclusive maps to your BACKPACKER apps through our partnership with Trimble Outdoors.

Carry the Best Maps
With BACKPACKER PRO Maps, get life-list destinations and local trips on adventure-ready waterproof myTopo paper.

FREE Rocky Mountain Trip Planner
Sign up for a free Rocky Mountain National Park trip planning kit from our sister site MyRockyMountainPark.com.

Follow BackpackerMag on Twitter Follow Backpacker on Facebook
Get 2 FREE Trial Issues and 3 FREE GIFTS
Survival Skills 101 • Eat Better
The Best Trails in America
YES! Please send me my FREE trial issues of Backpacker
and my 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Full Name:
City:
Address 1:
Zip Code:
State:
Address 2:
Email (required):
Free trial offer valid for US subscribers only. Canadian subscriptions | International subscriptions