SUBSCRIBE | NEWSLETTERS | MAPS | VIDEOS | BLOGS | MARKETPLACE | CONTESTS
TRY BACKPACKER FREE!
SUBSCRIBE NOW and get
2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

Also on Backpacker.com


Enter Zip Code

Backpacker Magazine – April 2009

Gear Guide 2009: KEEN Oregon PCT Boot Review

Scramble, bushwhack, and ascend with this all-around solid boot.

by: Michael Lanza

KEEN Oregon PCT (Julia Vandenoever)
KEEN Oregon PCT (Julia Vandenoever)

Gear Guide 2009: More Mid-Duty Boots
Search through our extensive library for more reviews.

All-Purpose Comfort
Testers hammered this leather-and-nylon high-top from Washington's rugged Chelan Summit Trail to Wyoming's Wind River Range and Utah's Capitol Reef. Whether on trail or off, bushwhacking or scrambling, their conclusion was the same: This is a solid, core backpacking boot.

The Oregon is first-hike comfortable, thanks to soft leather uppers, a close fit in the heel and midfoot, and a huge toebox. Solid support and cushioning–enhanced by a full-length plastic midsole plate and cork in the heel–let us carry 40-pound packs without sore feet. Wet snow didn't penetrate the proprietary membrane, which breathed moderately well. Our one minor complaint is that the lacing is rudimentary–locking lacehooks at the midfoot would offer more precise fitting. Best for medium- to high-volume feet. $160; 3 lbs. Keenfootwear.com

gear finder


gear finder
FULL PRODUCT SPECS: Oregon PCT Men's



Subscribe to Backpacker magazine
Sign up for our free weekly e-newsletter
Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip:
Email (req):
Reader Rating: -

READERS COMMENTS

patrick
Oct 14, 2012

the only thing i can say about my keen oregon is
WOW !!! AMAIZING !!!

Ken
May 07, 2011

I bought a pair of these at the local sporting goods shop. These are undoubtedly the most comfortable pair I have every had. I bought them early, and wore them while traveling in Eastern Europe thinking to break them in - that was unnecessary, as they fit great from the get-go. They stay comfortable even on long days - we spent several days in Ukraine traveling by train at night, and on our feet all day (12 to 15 hours each day). We stomped around the city and climbed in the hills as well - never had a pinch or a rub. I may just buy another pair and stick them in the closet, just in case they stop making these!

--

Anonymous
Jun 21, 2010

I got the pct keen boot as a pro-deal and i'm very happy with them! i send alot of time on the { AT } Appalachian Trail as a RidgeRunner/Trail Crew, maybe 18-24 mile days with a 45 pound pack and my feet " never " hurt me at all...they " never " get wet...i will never buy any other boot again..i hope they keep making this boot for years to come !!!! The RidgeRunner...

Scott
Apr 10, 2010

I struggled with what to buy since by last boots finally gave in. There are hundreds of choices but this is the boot I picked after a lot of research for a good all around boot. I went on a 3 mile hike right out of the box and they felt fine. The arch area seems preety stiff for the first mile but then it just molds to your feet. Excellent support and you can feel the full length plate support with every step. Just enough flexibility in the sole to make them comfy. I think I am going to like these :)

Anonymous
Jan 19, 2010

Any comment on their stiffness? I am debating whether to get the Keens or something more heavy duty. I usually pack loads around 50lbs in rocky terrain and am looking for a good boot. Thanks.

Nathan
Jan 07, 2010

I recently purchased these boots for hiking and backpacking. Not five minutes after I paid for them, they were on my feet. I went for a stroll around the mall and was amazed at how comfortable they were right out of the box. They have a roomy toebox which is great for downhill hikes and they have very solid materials. I have warn them on several outdoor excursions in moderate to snowy, icy weather and they performed better than I ever would have dreamed. The lug pattern is self cleaning and has excellent grip even on wet rocks. I have to agree the lacing system is a little funky but the lace hooks are solid as a rock and the leather and upper materials are nicely crafted and very brawny. I added a few coats of Snow-Seal Beeswax to mine the night I got them (though it probably didn't need it) to keep the leather from getting saturated to much and splashes just bead up and run right off of them. Yet, they breathe well so your feet stay dry and don't stink. I am a huge fan of the rubber toe guard as that is where most of my leather boots have failed in the past simply by wearing through. This is a great addition for the health of your toes and for the longlasting-ness of the boots. They are great!

ADD A COMMENT

Your rating:
Your Name:

Comment:

My Profile Join Now

Most recent threads

Gear
What Should I Do About A Table And Chairs?
Posted On: Aug 30, 2014
Submitted By: hikerjer
Trailhead Register
Who's Working this weekend...?
Posted On: Aug 30, 2014
Submitted By: hikerjer


Go
View all Gear
Find a retailer

Special sections - Expert handbooks for key trails, techniques and gear

Check out Montana in Warren Miller's Ticket to Ride
Warren Miller athletes charge hard and reflect on Big Sky country, their love for this space and the immense energy allotted to the people who reside in Montana.

Boost Your Apps
Add powerful tools and exclusive maps to your BACKPACKER apps through our partnership with Trimble Outdoors.

Carry the Best Maps
With BACKPACKER PRO Maps, get life-list destinations and local trips on adventure-ready waterproof myTopo paper.

FREE Rocky Mountain Trip Planner
Sign up for a free Rocky Mountain National Park trip planning kit from our sister site MyRockyMountainPark.com.

Follow BackpackerMag on Twitter Follow Backpacker on Facebook
Get 2 FREE Trial Issues and 3 FREE GIFTS
Survival Skills 101 • Eat Better
The Best Trails in America
YES! Please send me my FREE trial issues of Backpacker
and my 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Full Name:
City:
Address 1:
Zip Code:
State:
Address 2:
Email (required):
Free trial offer valid for US subscribers only. Canadian subscriptions | International subscriptions