SUBSCRIBE | NEWSLETTERS | MAPS | VIDEOS | BLOGS | MARKETPLACE | CONTESTS
TRY BACKPACKER FREE!
SUBSCRIBE NOW and get
2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

Also on Backpacker.com


Enter Zip Code

Backpacker Magazine – April 2009

Gear Guide 2009: Black Diamond Stormtrack Tent Review

Black Diamond's Stormtrack will keep even giants warm in the mountains.

by: Kelly Bastone

Black Diamond Stormtrack (Seth Hughes).
Black Diamond Stormtrack (Seth Hughes).

Gear Guide 2009: More Mountaineering Tents
Search through our extensive library for more reviews.

Best for Big Guys
Who says alpine shelter requires suffering? The Stormtrack is long and wide (89 by 61 inches), so six-plus-footers can share it and actually sleep, and it has two doors and vestibules, so you don't have to cuddle with climbing gear. The large front door facilitates coming, going, and vestibule cooking. Both individual and hubbed poles make it extremely sturdy. "It held strong during a month of subzero temps and 25-mph winds in Antarctica," reported a tester.

Downsides: We wish it had more storage pockets, and the fly doesn't extend to the ground, allowing some blowing snow to sneak into the vestibule. $499; 6 lbs. 8 oz. Blackdiamond.com

gear finder



Subscribe to Backpacker magazine
Sign up for our free weekly e-newsletter
Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip:
Email (req):
Reader Rating: -

READERS COMMENTS

Matt
Jul 26, 2011

Have one of these, have used on an extremely windy hunting trip in the high country of the South Island of New Zealand in winter. Have a good nights sleep, so did my Dad....need I say anything else. Great tent, highly recommended

Matt
Jul 26, 2011

Have one of these, have used on an extremely windy hunting trip in the high country of the South Island of New Zealand in winter. Have a good nights sleep, so did my Dad....need I say anything else. Great tent, highly recommended

mike
Feb 08, 2011

Awesome tent! I live in CO and take it in the Rockies all the time. Very bomb proof and very light for such a big double wall 4 season tent. Check this tent out and if you are in need of a awesome tent, get this!

cMason
May 27, 2010

Look at the specs; 6 lbs 8oz. in exchange for 35.6 sq ft, two vestibules 11 + 6.7 sq ft, 46" tall with walls that are a lot more vertical and it can take a strong wind! No more claustrophobic feels or waiting to the last minute to get in the tent because it's SO tight. You should do yourself a favor; seriously consider this tent and checkout this tent!

ADD A COMMENT

Your rating:
Your Name:

Comment:

My Profile Join Now

Most recent threads

Mid-Atlantic
Coopers Rock, West Virginia (8/30/2014)
Posted On: Sep 02, 2014
Submitted By: hikingFF77
Trailhead Register
Coffee
Posted On: Sep 02, 2014
Submitted By: hikingFF77


Go
View all Gear
Find a retailer

Special sections - Expert handbooks for key trails, techniques and gear

Check out Montana in Warren Miller's Ticket to Ride
Warren Miller athletes charge hard and reflect on Big Sky country, their love for this space and the immense energy allotted to the people who reside in Montana.

Boost Your Apps
Add powerful tools and exclusive maps to your BACKPACKER apps through our partnership with Trimble Outdoors.

Carry the Best Maps
With BACKPACKER PRO Maps, get life-list destinations and local trips on adventure-ready waterproof myTopo paper.

FREE Rocky Mountain Trip Planner
Sign up for a free Rocky Mountain National Park trip planning kit from our sister site MyRockyMountainPark.com.

Follow BackpackerMag on Twitter Follow Backpacker on Facebook
Get 2 FREE Trial Issues and 3 FREE GIFTS
Survival Skills 101 • Eat Better
The Best Trails in America
YES! Please send me my FREE trial issues of Backpacker
and my 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Full Name:
City:
Address 1:
Zip Code:
State:
Address 2:
Email (required):
Free trial offer valid for US subscribers only. Canadian subscriptions | International subscriptions