SUBSCRIBE | NEWSLETTERS | MAPS | VIDEOS | BLOGS | MARKETPLACE | CONTESTS
TRY BACKPACKER FREE!
SUBSCRIBE NOW and get
2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

Also on Backpacker.com


Enter Zip Code

Backpacker Magazine – April 2009

Gear Guide 2009: Big Agnes Fly Creek UL 1 Tent Review

Roomy, rugged, and light-as-a-feather--that's why the Fly Creek is this year's pick for best all-around solo tent.

by: Kelly Bastone

Big Agnes Fly Creek (Seth Hughes).
Big Agnes Fly Creek (Seth Hughes).

Gear Guide 2009: More 1-Person Tents
Search through our extensive library for more reviews.

Best All-Around
You don't need to be an ounce-counter to appreciate this: a roomy double-wall tent that's as light as a bivy sack. Our 5'10" tester could stretch out and even sit up in the Fly Creek without feeling like a netted fish, thanks to a 38-inch peak height, 22-square-foot floor, and a pack-swallowing vestibule that minimizes interior clutter.

The key is a single hubbed pole with a long section that lifts the spine of the tent, adding structure with minimal weight. There is a space tradeoff at the tapered foot end, but testers didn't mind the smaller dimensions there. Guyed out, the Fly Creek proved unflappable in 15-mph winds, despite the ultralight materials. $300; 1 lb. 14 oz. Bigagnes.com

gear finder



Subscribe to Backpacker magazine
Sign up for our free weekly e-newsletter
Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip:
Email (req):
Reader Rating: -

READERS COMMENTS

Star Star Star
niles
Mar 26, 2013

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xmyUc3XT8i0&feature=share&list=UUeWKaLsk9Z6TwWgPv3VGPnA

Josh
Jul 26, 2012

I just used it to bike tour across Europe during the rainiest summer in over 100 years. Dry the whole time. Awesome tent.

Kim
Feb 12, 2012

I have used this tent at 11,500 feet for base camp on many 14,000-foot mountains. Big Agnes designed a very lightweight tent with good ventilation if properly staked-out. I experienced no condensation puddling, only a few contact drops in early morning on the ceiling walls. On entry and exit, a few drops of rain will fall into the tent from the rainfly due to the angle of the opening. I am 6'2" which makes sitting-up difficult. However, I wanted the lightest tent possible with room to stash my gear inside. I get a good night of sleep in the Big Agnes Fly Creek UL-1, with a full-size Big Agnes Insulated Air Core Sleeping Pad.

jim
Feb 06, 2011

It is an excellent tent!Lighter does not mean less quality.The thread count on this tent makes this tent just as durable as one that has heavier material.Well designed product,love how light it is.Double wall tents are the way to go.

Jerry Boyd
Oct 22, 2010

The best part about this tent is the light weight. Last summer in Washington North Cascades and cool nights in northern California, it developed condensation to levels that were excessive. I think this is due to silnylon. Silnylon seems to have a good surface to collect moisture. I've had 2 other 1-person tents of regular nylon and don't remember that level of condensation. I also don't like how the side walls ride up in the middle. But, minimizing fabric is one reason the tent it light. There's always sacrifices and trade-offs to engineer a tent for lower weight. The construction quality is excellent. I'm 5'11" and think this tent is roomy considering its class. Due to condensation, this tent is best suited for warm, breezy climates especially bugs are a problem.

Blake
Mar 20, 2010

In regard to condensation, I can say that it is about average. So I would rate it a 6 after using it three times. The material is thin, even though durable. I dont think it is a strong feature in the tent because there are no vents, yet I find the weight and room it offers is worth it. I am 5'7" 155 lbs so I can call it roomy.

SunSpring
Jan 12, 2010

Hey everyone... I need a tad bit more information, can anyone let me know what they thought of the condensation issue? Is there one? As you can see, my primary stompin grounds is FL, and Condensation happens!

On a scale of 1 (waterfall, puddle in the morning) - 10 (Bone Dry 100% of the time) How would you rate this tent??

Thanks!

ADD A COMMENT

Your rating:
Your Name:

Comment:

My Profile Join Now

Most recent threads

Trailhead Register
Montana has nasty insects!
Posted On: Aug 30, 2014
Submitted By: Tallgrass
Trailhead Register
High Summer Heat
Posted On: Aug 29, 2014
Submitted By: TIMOTEO


Go
View all Gear
Find a retailer

Special sections - Expert handbooks for key trails, techniques and gear

Check out Montana in Warren Miller's Ticket to Ride
Warren Miller athletes charge hard and reflect on Big Sky country, their love for this space and the immense energy allotted to the people who reside in Montana.

Boost Your Apps
Add powerful tools and exclusive maps to your BACKPACKER apps through our partnership with Trimble Outdoors.

Carry the Best Maps
With BACKPACKER PRO Maps, get life-list destinations and local trips on adventure-ready waterproof myTopo paper.

FREE Rocky Mountain Trip Planner
Sign up for a free Rocky Mountain National Park trip planning kit from our sister site MyRockyMountainPark.com.

Follow BackpackerMag on Twitter Follow Backpacker on Facebook
Get 2 FREE Trial Issues and 3 FREE GIFTS
Survival Skills 101 • Eat Better
The Best Trails in America
YES! Please send me my FREE trial issues of Backpacker
and my 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Full Name:
City:
Address 1:
Zip Code:
State:
Address 2:
Email (required):
Free trial offer valid for US subscribers only. Canadian subscriptions | International subscriptions