SUBSCRIBE | NEWSLETTERS | MAPS | VIDEOS | BLOGS | MARKETPLACE | CONTESTS
TRY BACKPACKER FREE!
SUBSCRIBE NOW and get
2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

Also on Backpacker.com


Enter Zip Code

Backpacker Magazine – Online Exclusive

Gear Review: Ultra Light Kettle Co. mKettle

A cool way to boil and carry water, all in one package.

by: Joe Flowers


The Specs:
Weight: 14 oz. (without water)
Water capacity: 18 oz.
Price: $82
mKettle.com

There are countless backpacker meals that require the simple task of boiling water, and many hikers haul stoves for this reason alone. The new mKettle by UK-based Ultra Light Kettle Company features a cool way to carry and boil water in the same container.

This “chimney” kettle design uses an opening through the middle to carry heat throughout the entire “inside” of the aluminum canteen. The odd canteen has a funneled hole, from top to bottom. Think of it as a long, vertical metal donut with a hole (See photo 2 and 3 above); the yummy part of the donut holds water.

First you make a tiny camp fire in the supplied fire base. (See photo 1 above.) The fire blasts up through the middle. The water is isolated and heated throughout the length of the kettle, and the flames come out the top.

The fuel can be anything from simple twigs to solid fuel bars (we tested wet-fire tinder) and alcohol burners (there’s a hole on the side of the fire base for easy lighting). The twig burning method was incredibly fun during a three-day trip on the Santee River in South Carolina. I found that using a higher number of smaller sticks and twigs provided better results than going from small to large twigs, as it kept a consistent flame. The website states that it can take up to 10 minutes to get the 18 oz. of water boiling, and I averaged about 8 minutes at the beginning. (Compare this to 4 minutes and 9 seconds with a MSR Pocket Rocket on full blast, no wind.) Once you figure it out, it becomes easy to have water boiling in six minutes; the quickest we managed was 5 minutes 38 seconds using sticks.

The mKettle comes with a removable neoprene liner around the outside that did not burn or smolder, and helps insulate the kettle and keeps fingers from getting burned when picking up the hot kettle. A rubber stopper prevents spillage during transport and in camp, but do not use it when boiling water as you may have a missile! (Another cool part is that the stove base flips up inside the middle, and you can store your fire-making materials in there when not in use.) Bring a camp cup and bowl though, as the small hole does not make the kettle suitable for anything other than water. Small-mouth aside, many backpackers that enjoy unique camping gear, like my friend Bob in upstate New York, enjoy this chimney style kettle due to the small size and ease of use.

Update: 10-26-11 Also, check out Joe's review of the Boilerwerks Backcountry Boiler. another chimney kettle model.

Subscribe to Backpacker magazine
Sign up for our free weekly e-newsletter
Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip:
Email (req):
Reader Rating: -

ALL READERS COMMENTS

The SF Bean
Jun 01, 2013

Krazy Kool. Effective, the neoprene grip is amazing. Packs down to almost nothing. No more gas cans for me. Perfect for dried meals, and Starbucks VIA coffee. TSFB

TreeHugs
Nov 27, 2012

The good. Small cheap and works well.

The Bad. It is small, so just for one or two people.

I bought two, one for myself and gave one to my friend as a present. He uses it constantly and really likes it. I use mine when fishing and day hikes, not so much when it is wet.

The anodized version is the way to go. Might be more expensive but worth every penny. Have fun, we do. Thanx Backpacker.
TH

Anonymous
Oct 24, 2012

Hi Guys, as we are playing the who copied who game has anyone ever seen an original Kelly Kettle?

Junishi Yamagata
Oct 11, 2012

High craftmanship. A truly special product. We enjoy it for tea and dehydrated meals during forest walks. Thank you, sir!
J. Yamagata

Aokigahara, Mt. FUJI

Junishi Yamagata
Oct 11, 2012

High craftmanship. A truly special product. We enjoy it for tea and dehydrated meals during forest walks. Thank you, sir!
J. Yamagata

Aokigahara, Mt. FUJI

K Owen
Aug 25, 2012

Nice product. Works even better with alcohol burners. Love the mkettle in the backwoods. Just make sure to leave no trace. Peace, ko

Ned Lud
May 08, 2012

MKettle, boilerworks et al - ALL use the basic design from Kelly - OVER 100 years old!! & IRISH.

So stop yapping about rip off design .. EVERYONE of the manufacturers is "STEALING" from the Kelly original.

I'd buy it just on the basis of being BRITISH n not American as through history the USA has "borrowed" other nations ideas n passed em off as thiers ...

Ned Lud
May 08, 2012

MKettle, boilerworks et al - ALL use the basic design from Kelly - OVER 100 years old!! & IRISH.

So stop yapping about rip off design .. EVERYONE of the manufacturers is "STEALING" from the Kelly original.

I'd buy it just on the basis of being BRITISH n not American as through history the USA has "borrowed" other nations ideas n passed em off as thiers ...

St
Mar 13, 2012

I would love to buy the backcountry boiler instead of the mkettle but I am really tired of scouring the net looking for a way to purchase it. If you are going to complain about getting ripped off you might want to look into product availability.

Jeremy
Feb 18, 2012

I like mine a lot. Got it for xmas. It does what it says on the tin. Fun to use too. Also works well with Trangia alcohol cup. Bay Area Bum.

Henry Thomas
Jan 21, 2012

Krazy kool! This mkettle works like a charm every time. Fits in my backpack. :) Thanks BP mag. Picked mine up from campsaver.com

John Fitzhugh
Jul 13, 2011

I love mine. The mkettle works great, although my wife is bored with it by now, but I don't care and I love using it. Time and time again. Quick, simple and works. Just make sure your leaves and sticks are dry. Thank you for the post.

JL
May 29, 2011

Would have been nice if Backpacker had done its homework and reviewed the original version--the Backcountry Boiler designed by Devin Montgomery. The mKettle is a blatant ripoff in both design and name. The "good" folks behind mKettle are simply lying thieves.

BlueridgeMts hiker
Mar 15, 2011

Wow. Just got an mkettle for myself and one for my husband. Works really well, not sure if there is enough capacity for hydrating meals, but should be. We will test it on our AT thruhike this spring. Thanks for letting us know on this gem.
Blueridgemts, VA

Mar 13, 2011

Ryan Jordan states (On this Link: http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=38591&startat=40)

"..At any rate, I haven't received a response from the mKettle manufacturer about the extent to which Devin's design influenced theirs, so I decided to hold off on ordering it because it would just be a little weird to bring this "exact-looking" product in and then have to explain all about it, "parallel development" why I supported a company that might of ripped off a design without attribution, etc."

"..FYI the photo and quote on the mKettle website was used without my permission."

dayhiker9
Mar 09, 2011

I don't know about the history on this item.

It is interesting that Ryan Jordan seems to endorse it (one of the founders of BPL) and their website has one of his pictures on it.

It seems one is heavier and cheaper. Not sure which is more durable etc.

Joe
Mar 05, 2011

A bit harsh Mike. The short version is that the Backcountry Boiler was previously known as the Montgomery Kettle. When another guy copied Devin's design (exactly, but heavier) he probably coined the name mKettle to confuse buyers-possibly believing "mkettle" meant Montgomery Kettle. They are not the same beast. Hopefully backpacker will print something on this along with Devin's cool design story.

Mike
Mar 04, 2011

"Ttgirl" you are a Backpacker idiot. Read history here (This is what "mKettle" used to steal Devin's design--and used this name to confuse people like you): http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=7456&disable_pagination=1
Now read a little more here: http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=38591

The original one and also the better/lighter one is the Backcountry Boiler. YouTube Backcountry Boiler to see it in use.

Ttgirl
Mar 03, 2011

I just googled the backcountry boiler. It was formerly known as the Montgomery kettle made by devin Montgomery. Could this be why it's now called the mKettle?! Calm down guys, not every big company is out to steal another man's idea...

Mystech
Mar 02, 2011

Like so many reviews, the manufacturer was probably looking to get some free publicity (or was it paid for?). Guess they got more than they bargained for but thats bound to happen when you swipe an idea in a community as tight the backpacking community. And shame on you BP Mag!

bobfnbw
Mar 02, 2011

Nice review. But as many has mentioned, seems like a poor rip off of another mans idea.
Backpacker has always been (at least for the last 20 years or more) a way for outdoor companies to sell stuff. I was a subscriber back when it was a beautiful magazine, one of the best. Sadly all were lost in a basement flood. But back then it wasn't about the commercial aspect, but the joy of it. I can understand reviewing this stove. And it looks like a great stove. But credit should have been given to others that have paved the way for this.
I would buy the backcountry boiler without a second thought. USA ingenuity at its finest.

mtmnmark
Mar 01, 2011

get a backcountry boiler instead its lighter and credit goes where credit is due

Petra
Mar 01, 2011

Just got one of these today. Can't wait to use on the next hike (below tree line). Not so good for boiling snow, but looks perfect for hydrating my food packs, etc. Great review. Thanks.
Redmond, WA

Jens
Mar 01, 2011

Thanks everyone. I will wait for the Boilerwerks

Jens
Mar 01, 2011

Thanks everyone. I will wait for the Boilerworks

Patrick Harrison
Mar 01, 2011

I have been using the "Kelly Kettle" for over 10 years, works great. This mKettle is just a copy of this.
Check out the site http://www.kellykettle.com/

Patrick Harrison
Mar 01, 2011

I have been using the "Kelly Kettle" for over 10 years, works great. This mKettle is just a copy of this.
Check out the site http://www.kellykettle.com/

Anonymous
Mar 01, 2011

Yep...total rip off...except this one is much heavier than the backcountry boiler. Devin's is only 8oz (plus 2oz for the accessories).
I hate that backpacker didn't do their homework on this one. Telling Devin's story would have been much, much cooler.

Steve
Feb 28, 2011

James is right on. Anyone that has followed Devin's online development (BPL--starting in 2007), and many followup threads know about the SCAM that "mkettle" has pulled off. This is why many of us are so passionate on this topic. It is not a case of a similarly designed product, but of scamming and exactly copying Devin's improved design. My future subscription to Backpacker will hinge on how they handle/rectify this.

Steve
Feb 28, 2011

James is right on. Anyone that has followed Devin's online development (BPL--starting in 2007), and many followup threads know about the SCAM that "mkettle" has pulled off. This is why many of us are so passionate on this topic. It is not a case of a similarly designed product, but of scamming and exactly copying Devin's improved design. My future subscription to Backpacker will hinge on how they handle/rectify this.

Sam
Feb 28, 2011

I love this kettle. It is small enough to fit an pack. It is good to a few companies making similar products, better for all of us backpackers. Can anyone make a Titanium version?

James
Feb 27, 2011

@ Ron - the idea of a volcano kettle is not new at all, but the Mkettle has the exact same dimensions, capacity, design, appearance, and neoprene sleeve as Devin's kettle. It is a carbon copy ripoff.

If the Mkettle people had decided to be inspired, and design their own ultralight kettle, it would be different. That's not what they did. They called Devin, pretended to be a potential customer, grilled him about very specific details regarding his kettle, then used his good will providing those details to rip off his design. These people are the lowest form of scum and I am incredibly disappointed in Backpacker, both for publishing this article, and refusing to post any sort of apology or retraction.

Ralph Coonhurst
Feb 26, 2011

I want one. It is so cute.

Ron
Feb 24, 2011

Actually designs awfully similar to this were in use in WW2. In fact the back country boiler site references the Benghazi Boiler, type that into google and your find the Thermette (50-60s) The kelly kettle (1900s) and others.

Travis Kerr
Feb 24, 2011

Not sure why my previous comment was removed. Follow some of the links provided below. The product being reviewed represents blatant theft. Very disappointing Backpacker - this article should be removed immediately.

Travis Kerr
Feb 24, 2011

Yep - I agree with many of the other posters. This design was stolen. I hope Backpacker takes some steps in following issues to try and rectify this situation. It's time for me to renew my subscription - I think I will wait and see how this plays out first.

Eric Smith
Feb 24, 2011

These are great, all wood burning stoves. Avoid gas.

Mike Williams
Feb 24, 2011

I would not support a magazine that stole an article from Backpacker and I would hope that Backpacker would not support a company that stole a design from the Backcountry Boiler. But I have been disappointed in the past, so why does this surprise me?

Disapointed
Feb 24, 2011

I'm disappointed that journalistic due diligence wasn't performed by backpacker. Clearly Devin Montgomery with the Backcountry Boiler deserves credit for his design. I find it ironic that a publishing company is supporting plagiarism.

John YellowstonePark
Feb 24, 2011

Cool. Just what we needed.

Michael Lydick
Feb 23, 2011

Foul. Backcountry Boiler...plain and simple guys.

Mark Roberts
Feb 23, 2011

My apologies - it seems to have been a browser error.

Mark Roberts
Feb 23, 2011

I made a comment about the design of this being stolen from Boilerwerks - why was it removed? As I mentioned, it is quite well documented on their site, on Backpacking Light, and many other places.

My disappointment with Backpacker continues - now you appear to be curtailing free speech.

Jimmy
Feb 23, 2011

Here's an interesting story on the "evolution" of this product. http://www.theboilerwerks.com/2010/10/the-boilerwerks-back-from-the-wilderness/

Jim
Feb 23, 2011

Shame on BackPacker. The "mkettle" is a near exact copy of the Backcountry Boiler.
Read about it's history here:http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=7456
BPL is now selling them--the real L/W ones.

Mark Roberts
Feb 23, 2011

It's well known that the design for this kettle was stolen from Boilerwerks Backcountry Boiler.

http://www.theboilerwerks.com

I'm surprised to see Backpacker giving mKettle such a prominent review.

Matthew Howell
Feb 23, 2011

It looks like it would tip over quite easily. It has a small base with a larger top. How often can you find perfectly flat ground in the backcountry?

ADD A COMMENT

Your rating:
Your Name:

Comment:

My Profile Join Now

Most recent threads

Trailhead Register
Trekking the Huayhuash
Posted On: Aug 29, 2014
Submitted By: RebeccaD
Trailhead Register
bicycling question
Posted On: Aug 29, 2014
Submitted By: hikerjer


Go
View all Gear
Find a retailer

Special sections - Expert handbooks for key trails, techniques and gear

Check out Montana in Warren Miller's Ticket to Ride
Warren Miller athletes charge hard and reflect on Big Sky country, their love for this space and the immense energy allotted to the people who reside in Montana.

Boost Your Apps
Add powerful tools and exclusive maps to your BACKPACKER apps through our partnership with Trimble Outdoors.

Carry the Best Maps
With BACKPACKER PRO Maps, get life-list destinations and local trips on adventure-ready waterproof myTopo paper.

FREE Rocky Mountain Trip Planner
Sign up for a free Rocky Mountain National Park trip planning kit from our sister site MyRockyMountainPark.com.

Follow BackpackerMag on Twitter Follow Backpacker on Facebook
Get 2 FREE Trial Issues and 3 FREE GIFTS
Survival Skills 101 • Eat Better
The Best Trails in America
YES! Please send me my FREE trial issues of Backpacker
and my 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Full Name:
City:
Address 1:
Zip Code:
State:
Address 2:
Email (required):
Free trial offer valid for US subscribers only. Canadian subscriptions | International subscriptions