SUBSCRIBE | NEWSLETTERS | MAPS | VIDEOS | BLOGS | MARKETPLACE | CONTESTS
TRY BACKPACKER FREE!
SUBSCRIBE NOW and get
2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

Also on Backpacker.com


Enter Zip Code

Backpacker Magazine – Online Exclusive

Gear Review: Flip-Flops

These four flip flops are made with the outdoor enthusiast in mind–massaging footbeds, illuminating LED lights, sturdy straps, and rock-solid arch support are just some of their sporty features.

by: Katie Herrell

PAGE 1 2 3 4
The North Face Basecamp (Courtesy Photo)
The North Face Basecamp (Courtesy Photo)
Teva Illum (Courtesy Photo)
Teva Illum (Courtesy Photo)
Chaco Flip EcoTread (Courtesy Photo)
Chaco Flip EcoTread (Courtesy Photo)
Ocean Minded Seaweed (Courtesy Photo)
Ocean Minded Seaweed (Courtesy Photo)

[water sport worthy]
Ocean Minded Seaweed
Feel free to get these flip flops soaked and muddy – they revel in it. One tester basically wore these sandals every day for two weeks tromping with her go-go-go dog in the lakes and reservoirs around Boulder, CO, despite having a box full of testing sandals at the office. Though they’re not super supportive, they are incredibly lightweight and the solid rubber sole dries in a snap. Several testers praised the comfort of these sandals, as the soft nubuck straps didn’t cause any chafing and the footbed is super soft and cushiony. Bonus: A portion of all sales go to the Surfrider Foundation.

The Stats:
Price: $35
Weight: 15 oz. (Women’s 10)
Sizes: Women’s 5-11; Men’s 6-14
www.oceanminded.com


PAGE 1 2 3 4

Subscribe to Backpacker magazine
Sign up for our free weekly e-newsletter
Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip:
Email (req):
Reader Rating: -

READERS COMMENTS

Star Star Star Star Star
Rob H
Apr 07, 2013

http://www.olukai.com/

These are the best. They have arch support, stand up to water well, very comfortable and wear extremely well.

Jason
Jul 19, 2011

Best pair of flip flops I have ever put on are the Montrail Molokai. Amazing arch support and they are also heat moldable. They make the $60 price tag well worth it.

Alicia Lopez
Aug 07, 2010

I purchased the Chaco's at the indecent price of $50 just for the arch support. These were by far the most uncomfortable flip-flops ever. The arch support was rock solid with no give and the straps gave me blisters on the top of my feet. Save your money!

nikki o
Jul 27, 2010

really, i always wear flip flops when not on the trail. and when i'm in sand or taking a break it's the $10 ones from who knows where and they work perfectly fine.

Leaf
Jul 21, 2010

Yeah, I have a nice $30 pair of flip flops that weigh 1 pound too. Bought a generic pair at a local drug store for $3 that weigh 8oz. That's 8oz for a pair of mens size 11.

Walter
Jul 20, 2010

Great price, extremely comfortable. I bought 2 pair. Love 'em. I have Reef, Teva, Sanduk and Rainbow sandals and these are just as good if not better than some.

Jo
Jul 20, 2010

yikes... and I thought Crocs were expensive :(

I wear Crocs, which are extremely light (extra bonus when packing!), comfortable and fairly affordable.

I think speedo has some similar flip flops with support and sole for <$20

"Old Buzzard"
Jul 20, 2010

I thru-hiked the A.T. in '08 and my trailshoes, which I got on sale for less than these flip-flops. Is this some kind of joke?!!

TNFGuy
Jul 20, 2010

Reef Fanning are the way to go. They $46, have a bottle opener on the bottom, air cushioned heel, and soft neoprene strap. I am on my 7th summer with a pair, and will be replacing them with the same ones next year.

Joe
Jul 15, 2010

maybe those old navy sandals for a buck will do the job. :)

John Taylor
Jul 13, 2010

$28 dollars for flip flops? really? when did camping start becoming an expensive weekend with the family? i guess when someone started making it "trendy."

ssejhill
Jul 13, 2010

No thanks ... I'll take a $10 pair of flip flops and a $40 headlamp over Teva's flip flops any day. I can see the LED light failing in short order.

Rich Pavel
Jul 12, 2010

At that price you have one of the most value driven options around. "Fun"ctional is for me. Ocean Minded has the spirit and the goods!

ADD A COMMENT

Your rating:
Your Name:

Comment:

My Profile Join Now

Most recent threads

The Political Arena
Burger King moving headquarters to Canada
Posted On: Aug 27, 2014
Submitted By: star
Pacific Northwest
Alaska
Posted On: Aug 27, 2014
Submitted By: NicholasBell


Go
View all Gear
Find a retailer

Special sections - Expert handbooks for key trails, techniques and gear

Check out Montana in Warren Miller's Ticket to Ride
Warren Miller athletes charge hard and reflect on Big Sky country, their love for this space and the immense energy allotted to the people who reside in Montana.

Boost Your Apps
Add powerful tools and exclusive maps to your BACKPACKER apps through our partnership with Trimble Outdoors.

Carry the Best Maps
With BACKPACKER PRO Maps, get life-list destinations and local trips on adventure-ready waterproof myTopo paper.

FREE Rocky Mountain Trip Planner
Sign up for a free Rocky Mountain National Park trip planning kit from our sister site MyRockyMountainPark.com.

Follow BackpackerMag on Twitter Follow Backpacker on Facebook
Get 2 FREE Trial Issues and 3 FREE GIFTS
Survival Skills 101 • Eat Better
The Best Trails in America
YES! Please send me my FREE trial issues of Backpacker
and my 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Full Name:
City:
Address 1:
Zip Code:
State:
Address 2:
Email (required):
Free trial offer valid for US subscribers only. Canadian subscriptions | International subscriptions