SUBSCRIBE | NEWSLETTERS | MAPS | VIDEOS | BLOGS | MARKETPLACE | CONTESTS
TRY BACKPACKER FREE!
SUBSCRIBE NOW and get
2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

Also on Backpacker.com


Enter Zip Code

Backpacker Magazine – Online Exclusive

Gear Review: Vargo Titanium Hexagon Wood Stove

A wood or pellet-burning stove that doubles as windscreen.

by: Dan Larson

Vargo Titanium Hexagon Wood Stove (Courtesy Photo)
Vargo Titanium Hexagon Wood Stove (Courtesy Photo)

Diehard ultralighters scoff at carrying fuel canisters, which become dead weight when they’re empty, and liquid fuel stoves, which are heavy and bulky. After some practice, I grew to love this simple cooker for its versatility: I could use it as a wood or pellet burner on fair-weather trips, but also as an impenetrable windscreen for my alcohol stove (just set it inside) on wet trips, when I knew that finding tinder would be challenging.

The Hexagon consists of a base and a hinged windscreen, which also acts as the pot supports. Cooking with wood (and alcohol or fuel pellets) requires patience and concentration, to be sure. By feeding one dry, skinny branch the length of my arm and a pile of twigs and finger-size pieces of wood through the hinged door, I brought a creek-cold liter of water to boil in less than half an hour. For long trips without resupply, or if you just like the primeval art of fire cooking like I do, this stove does its job, and packs flat to take up minimal space in your pack. $60; 5.2 oz. (including case); vargooutdoors.com.


Subscribe to Backpacker magazine
Sign up for our free weekly e-newsletter
Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip:
Email (req):
Reader Rating: -

READERS COMMENTS

Eric
Feb 10, 2012

and when your precious batteries run out and / or the fan dies then what?? Try going back to basics which is what this stove is geared toward - using wood and wood only. Not batteries, fans, alcohol, etc.

Eric
Feb 10, 2012

ans when your precious batteries run out and / or the fan dies then what?? Try going back to basics which is what this stove is geared toward - using wood and wood only. Not batteries, fans, alcohol, etc.

Suzanne
Jul 26, 2011

NOT a good stove.

Instead, try the Sierra Zip stove. I've used it for years, and am still completely smitten. It will produce a white-hot blaze in the blink of an eye, boiling a liter of creek-cold water in 4 minutes when the fuel is dry. It uses an AA battery, which runs a 2-speed fan. Faaaaabulous.

http://www.zzstove.com/sierra.html

Anonymous
Jul 21, 2011


A truly rubbish bit of kit ,my buddy bought one about a month ago, weve used it 5 times now and get more disappointed every time Hes just not willing to admit its just a waste of cash. Apart from the fact it needs refuelling with twigs every 10 minits, the bottom is also beginning to buckle from the heat.
Verdict its designed to look good not actually be any good. Veeeeeeeeery poor.
Just have a fire and leave the toys at home.

John
Jan 11, 2011

How do esbit tabs do it in? Is it too tall?

Matthew
Dec 03, 2010

The stove works fine but needed some modification to stay together. I had to bend the straight tab 70 degrees and put a large paper clip through the tab next to the door to keep it together. Without the mods the stove would come apart and spill the water pot on the fire.

backcountry MT
Nov 20, 2010

check out Nimble Will Nomad's "little dandy stove" for plans to build your own wood fired camp stove. I built one and started using it a couple years ago and only use fuel stoves when car camping anymore.

wasabipotpie
Nov 19, 2010

This thing looks suspicious. I am not so sure it will really works. I think someone needs to send me one and let me field test in here in the Tennessee woods. Let me test it out with a few types of wood fuel and cook a few meals. Let me know who I need to send my contact info to so I can become a field tester.

BP Web Producer
Nov 18, 2010

Thanks Matt, you're right. We have changed the photo to the correct one.

Matt Lacuesta
Nov 17, 2010

I think you have the wrong picture in there.

ADD A COMMENT

Your rating:
Your Name:

Comment:

My Profile Join Now

Most recent threads

Trailhead Register
Montana has nasty insects!
Posted On: Aug 30, 2014
Submitted By: Tallgrass
Trailhead Register
High Summer Heat
Posted On: Aug 29, 2014
Submitted By: TIMOTEO


Go
View all Gear
Find a retailer

Special sections - Expert handbooks for key trails, techniques and gear

Check out Montana in Warren Miller's Ticket to Ride
Warren Miller athletes charge hard and reflect on Big Sky country, their love for this space and the immense energy allotted to the people who reside in Montana.

Boost Your Apps
Add powerful tools and exclusive maps to your BACKPACKER apps through our partnership with Trimble Outdoors.

Carry the Best Maps
With BACKPACKER PRO Maps, get life-list destinations and local trips on adventure-ready waterproof myTopo paper.

FREE Rocky Mountain Trip Planner
Sign up for a free Rocky Mountain National Park trip planning kit from our sister site MyRockyMountainPark.com.

Follow BackpackerMag on Twitter Follow Backpacker on Facebook
Get 2 FREE Trial Issues and 3 FREE GIFTS
Survival Skills 101 • Eat Better
The Best Trails in America
YES! Please send me my FREE trial issues of Backpacker
and my 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Full Name:
City:
Address 1:
Zip Code:
State:
Address 2:
Email (required):
Free trial offer valid for US subscribers only. Canadian subscriptions | International subscriptions