SUBSCRIBE | NEWSLETTERS | MAPS | VIDEOS | BLOGS | MARKETPLACE | CONTESTS
TRY BACKPACKER FREE!
SUBSCRIBE NOW and get
2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

Also on Backpacker.com


Enter Zip Code

Backpacker Magazine – Online Exclusive

Gear Review: Microcrampons

When the conditions call for grip but not burly crampons, strap on one of these three microcrampon options and feel secure on ice and snow.

by: Katie Herrell

PAGE 1 2 3
YakTrax Pro
YakTrax Pro
STABILicers Sport
STABILicers Sport
Kahtoohla Microspikes
Kahtoohla Microspikes


[around camp]
STABILicers Sport
Taking a cue from old-style galoshes, these bright blue slip-on microcrampons are like the bottom half of an overshoe with small bolts secured into the bottom. The Sport style comes with a separate piece of Velcro - an easy accessory to lose or overlook - for strapping the spikes to your shoes or boots. Without the Velcro we fished one of the spikes out of a deep posthole in Rocky Mountain Park, so be sure to keep the Velcro handy for intense hiking outings. The bolts gripped well, even on uphills, and the bottoms shed snow easily. Getting the right fit is key because the Stabilicers’ have minimal stretch and need to fit over your toe and high on your heel, so be sure to size specifically for the shoes or boots you plan to wear them with. These microcrampons are ideally suited for icy campground use, or to pull out of your pack (they are easily foldable, packable, and won't snag or tear other gear) sporadically when snow or ice creeps onto the trail.

The Stats:
Price: $40.00
Weight: 18 oz./pair (manufacturer spec)
Sizing:
XS - Women's 5 - 7.5
S - Men's 6 - 8, Women's 7.5 - 9.5
M - Men's 8 - 10, Women's 9.5 - 11
L - Men's 10 - 13, Women's 11.5 and up
32north.com
PAGE 1 2 3

Subscribe to Backpacker magazine
Sign up for our free weekly e-newsletter
Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip:
Email (req):
Reader Rating: -

READERS COMMENTS

Star
Chris Whitney
Mar 14, 2013

I have had two pairs of these Yak Trax Pro and used these to shovel snow on my steep driveway only to find out after 2-uses they fell apart. I wrote to Yak Trax, and they were kind enough to point-out that these are only designed to be used on snow, ice, or dirt not sidewalkds or any hard surface i.e. rocks. Don't kid yourself that you'll be able to wear them on trails unless they are completely snow or ice covered.

Star Star Star Star Star
Luis
Mar 12, 2013

No review for the Hillsound trail crampon!?!? In my opinion they are way better than the Kahtoola microspikes... Sad that REI don't have them.. But you can get at Amazon.com or EMS...

Kenny popp
Dec 03, 2010

Petzl has a 6 point crampon similar to my pair bought from campmoor a few years ago. they have helped us on the AT in January. They are not good when the snow is starting to melt as they then hold snow, but when there are lots of ice patches, they let you cruze on. they are also good since there are no spikes which could stick out the front to hit your ankle or boots, unless you step on your other foot. They are not too heavy for the help they provide. It would be nice if they had clips to allow them to be put on quicker. They do adjust to your boot.

Eric Nelson
Dec 03, 2010

Steve, I checked out the Hillsound Trail and it looks like a tame version of a real crampon. How much did they cost? Does the manufacturer sell them? I have no dealer within 400 miles of me. REI does not carry them, and that's about all I have within a five hour drive.

Jack Pittrof
Dec 03, 2010

Steve
Dec 01, 2010

I have a pair of Hillsound Trail crampons that have been great. Used them in Feb hiking in & out of Grand Canyon, and around the upper midwest during training hikes. They worked great, worked through thick ice & snow and felt very stable with 40lb pack. They're design is very similar to the Kahtoola's, I just liked the design of the Hillsound's better. They don't get a lot of press.

No question, they're not a replacement for mountaineering crampons, but for use outside of mountaineering the Hillsound's fit meet my needs.

Matt Lacuesta
Nov 15, 2010

I would compare the Kahtoohla Microspikes more the the Yaktrax XTR's. They are similar in style and size of spikes, and the XTR's have an anti-snow pack plate which I know is always a plus with regular crampons. The kind folks at YakTrax sent me a pair along with the rest of their traction products to write about and am excited to get out out of town (Denver) and into the mountains to test them out.

Matt Wofford
Nov 05, 2010

Little dissapointed that instep crampons were not included in this list

Matt Wofford
Nov 05, 2010

Little dissapointed that instep crampons were not included in this list

Paul
Oct 11, 2010

I have found it quite the contrary, the kahtoola's are easy to put on, and have provided m with great traction in almost every condition. Granted they will do nothing for you in thick powder, but I have used them on multiple ascents and they are one of the two things besides the ten essentials that I take on every hike.

They are so small and compact I don't even need a carrying case for them, I just have them in a quart freezer bag always on the top of my pack for easy accessibility.

I have had mine going into my th season now, and I hike primarily in the winter in the NW so after Feb, at least here in WA you don't come across a lot of thickpowder, just compact snow and ice. and in that these babies shine

Eric nelson
Oct 06, 2010

I really have to say that these are not crampons. If ice slope is even a little above about 5 degrees forget it. You'll just slide right down. They are great for slippery sidewalks or slushy trails with some ice one them but not for travel on forzen snowpack or glaciers. Spend the money and get real cranmpons.

ADD A COMMENT

Your rating:
Your Name:

Comment:

My Profile Join Now

Most recent threads

Trailhead Register
Montana has nasty insects!
Posted On: Aug 30, 2014
Submitted By: Tallgrass
Trailhead Register
High Summer Heat
Posted On: Aug 29, 2014
Submitted By: TIMOTEO


Go
View all Gear
Find a retailer

Special sections - Expert handbooks for key trails, techniques and gear

Check out Montana in Warren Miller's Ticket to Ride
Warren Miller athletes charge hard and reflect on Big Sky country, their love for this space and the immense energy allotted to the people who reside in Montana.

Boost Your Apps
Add powerful tools and exclusive maps to your BACKPACKER apps through our partnership with Trimble Outdoors.

Carry the Best Maps
With BACKPACKER PRO Maps, get life-list destinations and local trips on adventure-ready waterproof myTopo paper.

FREE Rocky Mountain Trip Planner
Sign up for a free Rocky Mountain National Park trip planning kit from our sister site MyRockyMountainPark.com.

Follow BackpackerMag on Twitter Follow Backpacker on Facebook
Get 2 FREE Trial Issues and 3 FREE GIFTS
Survival Skills 101 • Eat Better
The Best Trails in America
YES! Please send me my FREE trial issues of Backpacker
and my 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Full Name:
City:
Address 1:
Zip Code:
State:
Address 2:
Email (required):
Free trial offer valid for US subscribers only. Canadian subscriptions | International subscriptions