SUBSCRIBE | NEWSLETTERS | MAPS | VIDEOS | BLOGS | MARKETPLACE | CONTESTS
TRY BACKPACKER FREE!
SUBSCRIBE NOW and get
2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

Also on Backpacker.com


Enter Zip Code

Backpacker Magazine – September 2011

Gear Review: Eureka! Casper 15

This bag packs down to the size of a volleyball.

by: Tim Murrell

Eureka! Casper 15 (BP Photo Department)
Eureka! Casper 15 (BP Photo Department)

The downside of many bargain-priced synthetic bags: too bulky for the warmth, making them poor options for backpacking. But the Casper kept one Montana tester plenty warm at 20°F in the Mission Mountains, and with the included compression sack he wrangled it into a “volleyball-size package that fit in my weekend pack.”

Credit Eureka’s Rteq insulation, which is made of four different fibers of varying shapes, lengths, and deniers to maximize warmth, loft, and compressibility. The Casper has a cinchable hood and a fuzzy polyester lining that “felt like flannel pajamas,” reports one tester, “but became a bit clammy in temps above 50°F.” Slender testers liked the trim, thermally-efficient cut, but larger guys felt confined in the shoulder and hips.

The Specs:
$99
3 lbs. 5 oz.
unisex reg. and long
eurekatent.com

Subscribe to Backpacker magazine
Sign up for our free weekly e-newsletter
Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip:
Email (req):
Reader Rating: -

READERS COMMENTS

Beartooth Mtn Hiker Montana
Dec 06, 2011

The Eureka has been my preferred bag. You can buy them on sale at Cabelas they run the sale about 3 times a year. Christmas, Spring and sometimes late summer early fall. I actually own two now just in case I take someone with me who does not have their own gear. I am 6'0 210 lbs and have a regular. It is a little small but I prefer that for warmth when you hit those cold temps but don't get me wrong I can still roll around in it and I am not that small of a guy. I have wide shoulders. I have never used it above 50 degrees because the Montana mountains I have been in at night are never 50 and if it was I sure be on the lakeshore bagging some trophy fish. Bag preforms well in wet conditions to keep you dry. I was caught in Snow Storm in October 2010 at Sylvan Lake (Gold Trout Lake, East Rosebud Montana Trail) and had 2 feet of wet snow. Bag preformed exceptionally well. My buddy had a North Face down bag and I was dry while his $200 bag became wet. This is a synthetic bag so it does tend to dry really fast. Anyways, Happy Trails!

vbhnjk
Oct 13, 2011

Hi,good luck for you!
===== http://www.luckyvogue.com ========
New online store,you can find many cheap and fashion stuff
Nike air max shox dunk AF1 $30--39;
Ed Hardy AF JUICY POLO Bikini $20;
Handbags (Coach lv fendi d&g) $30
T shirts (Polo ,edhardy,lacoste) $15 Rolex: $99
Jean(True Religion,edhardy,coogi) $30
Sun glasses (Oakey,coach,gucci,Armaini) $15
New era cap $15
Bikini (Ed hardy,polo) $20
===== http://www.luckyvogue.com ========
Accept westernunion,moneygram,bank transfer,credit card.
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
ENJOY THE HTTP://WWW.LUCKYVOGUE.COM
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

Bear
Sep 20, 2011

I'm a large guy (only 5'8 but I weigh around 240) and I sleep comfortably in my Eureka Casper 15. When I'm cold, I'm thankful for the cozy fit. Whoever said it gets clammy above 50 degrees is pretty spot-on though.

Lostfalls
Sep 20, 2011

If you watch discount stores like Campmor, Sierra Trading Post, and even Cabelas you can get this bag for way cheaper than $99. Picked mine up for $53 (the women's version) - including shipping....

Just had it at Yellowstone - temps dropped into the twenties almost every night at our elevation, the bad worked perfectly didn't even need a liner...

ADD A COMMENT

Your rating:
Your Name:

Comment:

My Profile Join Now

Most recent threads

Southern
SEC! SEC! SEC!
Posted On: Sep 01, 2014
Submitted By: CajunHiker
Trailhead Register
New random photo thread.
Posted On: Sep 01, 2014
Submitted By: Echo


Go
View all Gear
Find a retailer

Special sections - Expert handbooks for key trails, techniques and gear

Check out Montana in Warren Miller's Ticket to Ride
Warren Miller athletes charge hard and reflect on Big Sky country, their love for this space and the immense energy allotted to the people who reside in Montana.

Boost Your Apps
Add powerful tools and exclusive maps to your BACKPACKER apps through our partnership with Trimble Outdoors.

Carry the Best Maps
With BACKPACKER PRO Maps, get life-list destinations and local trips on adventure-ready waterproof myTopo paper.

FREE Rocky Mountain Trip Planner
Sign up for a free Rocky Mountain National Park trip planning kit from our sister site MyRockyMountainPark.com.

Follow BackpackerMag on Twitter Follow Backpacker on Facebook
Get 2 FREE Trial Issues and 3 FREE GIFTS
Survival Skills 101 • Eat Better
The Best Trails in America
YES! Please send me my FREE trial issues of Backpacker
and my 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Full Name:
City:
Address 1:
Zip Code:
State:
Address 2:
Email (required):
Free trial offer valid for US subscribers only. Canadian subscriptions | International subscriptions