SUBSCRIBE | NEWSLETTERS | MAPS | VIDEOS | BLOGS | MARKETPLACE | CONTESTS
TRY BACKPACKER FREE!
SUBSCRIBE NOW and get
2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

Also on Backpacker.com


Enter Zip Code

Backpacker Magazine – Online Exclusive

Gear Review: Boxers or Briefs?

Although perhaps not as sexy as a brand new Gore-Tex Pro hardshell, the most basic of baselayers is a crucial component of your backcountry enjoyment. We put three mens' styles to the test.

by: Will Rochfort

PAGE 1 2 3 4
Our fearless tester in his Icebreakers (Courtesy Photo)
Our fearless tester in his Icebreakers (Courtesy Photo)
Patagonia Men's Active Boxer Briefs (Courtesy Photo)
Patagonia Men's Active Boxer Briefs (Courtesy Photo)
Under Armour Men's O Series BoxerJock (Courtesy Photo)
Under Armour Men's O Series BoxerJock (Courtesy Photo)
Icebreaker Beast 150 Boxer Brief (Courtesy Photo)
Icebreaker Beast 150 Boxer Brief (Courtesy Photo)

Best for High Octane Days – Under Armour O Series BoxerJock
When it comes to putting the family jewels on lockdown, no performance underpants I’ve ever worn could compare to the security of the O Series. The fit felt suffocating at first, but once I got going I could actually feel the cooling effect of Under Armour’s HeatGear Technology. This is the material that first put Under Armour on the performance clothing map, which is essentially a lightweight proprietary moisture-wicking fabric that effectively keeps you cool and dry.

It was a little disconcerting for the first hour (and maybe it was the uber-secure fit), but my nether regions have never felt that actively cooled by any other fabric I’ve worn. These BoxerJock’s also benefitted from “Strategic Ventilation,” which is apparently marketing code-speak for mesh fabric on the front door. I can’t say I noticed a material difference (pun intended), but I appreciated the thought. On the downside, even though the smell wasn’t too bad on day one, by day three they were certainly the most offensive to the olfactory. Thus I keep these close by for high speed day hikes (or any of the myriad other active sports I enjoy), but limit their use for extended trips.

The O Series also got high scores for their good looks, although I suspect it was more to do with the snug fit than sophisticated styling. Under Armour Men’s O Series BoxerJock, 3 oz (Men’s M), Sizes (in both 3” and 6” length): S, M, L, XL, XXL, $20, underarmour.com
PAGE 1 2 3 4

Subscribe to Backpacker magazine
Sign up for our free weekly e-newsletter
Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip:
Email (req):
Reader Rating: -

READERS COMMENTS

Star Star Star Star Star
Eric
Nov 04, 2013

Great underwear, but UFMUnderwear.com offers a better alternative. Their underwear has an adjustable pouch that allows the wearer to control the amount of isolation and support they get from their underwear. Not only is it the most comfortable pair of underwear you will ever wear, but it is the most functional.

RockDrMike
Mar 06, 2011

Another Exofficio fan. Good fit, comfortable, and easy to wash out anywhere. Also, they are available at a more reasonable price from Sierra Traders and occasionally Campmor. I've also worn Terramar which are good, but somewhat baggy in the front so support isn't as good.

matt
Oct 14, 2010

ditto on the ExOfficio. why didn't they test these? excellent boxer brief, use all the time in the backcountry.

Jeff
Oct 13, 2010

Typo in my review...i meant "so good"

Jeff
Oct 13, 2010

I am glad to see I am not the only person shocked not to see exofficio boxer briefs represented here. They are no good for active wear that I use them for tennis and hiking. They were also so comfortable that I have ditched all of my other underwear and now have ten pair of exofficio boxer briefs. I tried the patagonia's before the eo's and wore a hole in them after wearing them for one tennis match. Need I say more...exofficio rocks.

Bigfoot
Oct 13, 2010

Been using the UA brief and like them better than the EXO because the did not ride up my legs and give better support.

Jay
Oct 13, 2010

Yet another Ex-Officio fan here. I've also tried UA, REI and other cheaper "no-name" brands, but always find myself going back to the ExO. They are more expensive than I think underwear should be, but they are fantastic. Light, cool, dry quickly and look damn good too.

Scott
Oct 12, 2010

I am not familiar with the Ex Officio underwear, but I have used Terramar for the last 7 years and it holds up quite well.

Scott
Oct 12, 2010

I am not familiar with the Ex Officio underwear, but I have used Terramar for the last 7 years and it holds up quite well.

Iago
Oct 12, 2010

I haven't tried the Icebreakers yet, but the Smartwool microweight boxers are the best I've ever had.

3920
Oct 12, 2010

Jockey makes a "soft + lightweight microfiber" product that should be considered as an active wear in the back country. I have used several of the big name products in the past, but like the Jockey product.

Dave
Oct 12, 2010

I use both the Ex-os and the Icebreakers. Both are great, I prefer the Icebreakers over all. I have used both on over night trips and I find the ice breakers were more comfortable on the trail and afterward at the camp site.

Tony Barber
Oct 12, 2010

This evaluation is irrelevant without the inclusion of ExOfficio.

You guys really missed the boat on this one.

Jim
Oct 12, 2010

I used to swear by Under Armour boxer briefs UNTIL I found the Exofficio boxer briefs at my local outdoor retailer. They are more expensive than the Under Armours but well worth the money. Needless to say I have since replaced all of my Under Armour boxer briefs with the Exofficio. I find that the UA boxer briefs dont hold up that well either. I only get a couple of years out of a pair before they are toast. The material of the Exoffio boxer briefs is much smoother which makes them flawless as a base layer.

Jim
Oct 12, 2010

I used to swear by Under Armour boxer briefs UNTIL I found the Exofficio boxer briefs at my local outdoor retailer. They are more expensive than the Under Armours but well worth the money. Needless to say I have since replaced all of my Under Armour boxer briefs with the Exofficio. I find that the UA boxer briefs dont hold up that well either. I only get a couple of years out of a pair before they are toast. The material of the Exoffio boxer briefs is much smoother which makes them flawless as a base layer.

Draggin Tail
Oct 12, 2010

Add me to the "what about ExOfficio" crowd. I thru hiked the AT this year with 2 pairs and they were the most comfortable and showed no wear after five months. AND..... stylish? Didn't pack a bathing suit and used them for public swimming without any conservative's complaints. BM missed out not even listing them.

Dave
Oct 10, 2010

Ex Officio rocks although for the winter I will sometimes switch to Icebreaker.

Joe Russell
Oct 10, 2010

When I clicked on this review I expected ExOfficio to be at least be part of the 'best list,' if not at the top of it. Their Give-n-Go boxer brief is where it's at. They retain their ideal fit throughout the day and dry quickly, while relegating odor to a minor concern.

Commando
Oct 09, 2010

I am shocked there was no scientific constant involved in the study. You should start with a base line... aka going commando and see how the results are better or worse.

Bill
Oct 08, 2010

I have been wearing Marmot briefs for about a decade only underwear I own moisture control is what they said , the comfort is beyond compare. The only problem is they don't sell them any more. Luckily I have reservo. I ski in them, I hike in them , I live everyday in them. I'm thinking the Exofficio is similar since they have the same parent company now. Please Marmot bring back the mid Weight boxers.

View all comments

ADD A COMMENT

Your rating:
Your Name:

Comment:

My Profile Join Now

Most recent threads

Gear
Hiking on rocks
Posted On: Aug 29, 2014
Submitted By: RobinHood
Trailhead Register
Once there was a silly old ram ...
Posted On: Aug 28, 2014
Submitted By: RumiDude


Go
View all Gear
Find a retailer

Special sections - Expert handbooks for key trails, techniques and gear

Check out Montana in Warren Miller's Ticket to Ride
Warren Miller athletes charge hard and reflect on Big Sky country, their love for this space and the immense energy allotted to the people who reside in Montana.

Boost Your Apps
Add powerful tools and exclusive maps to your BACKPACKER apps through our partnership with Trimble Outdoors.

Carry the Best Maps
With BACKPACKER PRO Maps, get life-list destinations and local trips on adventure-ready waterproof myTopo paper.

FREE Rocky Mountain Trip Planner
Sign up for a free Rocky Mountain National Park trip planning kit from our sister site MyRockyMountainPark.com.

Follow BackpackerMag on Twitter Follow Backpacker on Facebook
Get 2 FREE Trial Issues and 3 FREE GIFTS
Survival Skills 101 • Eat Better
The Best Trails in America
YES! Please send me my FREE trial issues of Backpacker
and my 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Full Name:
City:
Address 1:
Zip Code:
State:
Address 2:
Email (required):
Free trial offer valid for US subscribers only. Canadian subscriptions | International subscriptions