SUBSCRIBE | NEWSLETTERS | MAPS | VIDEOS | BLOGS | MARKETPLACE | CONTESTS
TRY BACKPACKER FREE!
SUBSCRIBE NOW and get
2 Free Issues and 3 Free Gifts!
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email: (required)
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll pay just $12.00, and receive a full one-year subscription (9 issues in all), a 73% savings off the newsstand price! If for any reason I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing.
Your subscription includes 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Or click here to pay now and get 2 extra issues
Offer valid in US only.

Also on Backpacker.com


Enter Zip Code

Backpacker Magazine – August 2010

Gear Review: MontBell Breeze Dry-Tec U.L. Sleeping Bag Cover (Bivy)

This bivy stuffs smaller than a soda can.

by: Steve Howe

MontBell Breeze Dry-Tec U.L. Sleeping Bag Cover (Courtesy Photo)
MontBell Breeze Dry-Tec U.L. Sleeping Bag Cover (Courtesy Photo)

Forget paper-thin emergency sacks. This bivy stuffs smaller than a soda can and weighs less than most T-shirts, yet with taped seams and waterproof/breathable nylon fabric, it fends off wind and rain. Designers skipped zippers and snaps, and used an ultralight 15-denier fabric.

The combo saves beaucoup weight, but makes proper entry technique crucial to prevent rips: Stand in the foot section and pull it over your head before kneeling or sitting. Once you’re inside, it performs just like a classic bivy, including the minor condensation a tester felt during a winter storm in Utah. Downside: The ultrathin fabric needs TLC if you don’t have a pad. $125; 6.7 oz.; montbell.us

gear finder


gear finder
FULL PRODUCT SPECS: Breeze Dry-Tec UL Sleeping Bag Cover



Subscribe to Backpacker magazine
Sign up for our free weekly e-newsletter
Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip:
Email (req):
Reader Rating: -

READERS COMMENTS

Devin Radcliffe
Jul 04, 2012

I think you guys are missing the point.

In the pyramid of hiking gear you can have something that is two of the three:

Durable
Cheap
Lightweight

This thing is pretty cheap and very lightweight. It is therefore fragile. Treat your lightweight gear well and it should be fine.

Brian M
Oct 25, 2010

Seriously what is wrong with you people running this magazine? For $125 I could get a better airline flight that wouldn't put me in a survival situation to begin with!! We're average Joe's here with things called bills!! How bout testing somethin that a) won't rip unless you stand at a 135% angle, with your left leg perpendicular to your waist, while balancing 3 apples on your head and b) is something we would actually consider buying!! - For a great magazine, you guys sure are trying to lose readers with all this crap...

You dont need to know
Aug 26, 2010

I think you are so right Fred This mag is very expensive. You can get many durable cheaper things from walmart!

Jared Nance
Aug 25, 2010

Seriously? What good is a piece of survival gear if it's that delicate? And for $125!? You guys really are living in another world.

Luis
Aug 24, 2010

"Stand in the foot section and pull it over your head before kneeling or sitting." So we sleep with our head in the foot section of the bag and the feet sticking out the hood? I don't get it.

Shawn D.
Aug 24, 2010

Fred is right.. for that kinda money, it should be durable. For roughly the same cost, one could get a Sea to Summit, Reactor Thermolite bag liner, and a small lightweight silnylon tarp. For a few added ounces, you would be much better off to handle any survival situation. JMO SD

Fred
Aug 24, 2010

A hundred and twentyfive bones for something that if you are not careful might rip!? What world are you guys from? Perhaps your magazine might be labeled the Rich and the Frivolous. These items are cool but call me when the knife costs $20 and the Bivy won't rip.

ADD A COMMENT

Your rating:
Your Name:

Comment:

My Profile Join Now

Most recent threads

Health and Fitness
2014 fitness updates
Posted On: Aug 21, 2014
Submitted By: RebeccaD
Gear
MYOG Alcohol Stoves
Posted On: Aug 21, 2014
Submitted By: Tigger


Go
View all Gear
Find a retailer

Special sections - Expert handbooks for key trails, techniques and gear

Check out Montana in Warren Miller's Ticket to Ride
Warren Miller athletes charge hard and reflect on Big Sky country, their love for this space and the immense energy allotted to the people who reside in Montana.

Boost Your Apps
Add powerful tools and exclusive maps to your BACKPACKER apps through our partnership with Trimble Outdoors.

Carry the Best Maps
With BACKPACKER PRO Maps, get life-list destinations and local trips on adventure-ready waterproof myTopo paper.

FREE Rocky Mountain Trip Planner
Sign up for a free Rocky Mountain National Park trip planning kit from our sister site MyRockyMountainPark.com.

Follow BackpackerMag on Twitter Follow Backpacker on Facebook
Get 2 FREE Trial Issues and 3 FREE GIFTS
Survival Skills 101 • Eat Better
The Best Trails in America
YES! Please send me my FREE trial issues of Backpacker
and my 3 FREE downloadable booklets.
Full Name:
City:
Address 1:
Zip Code:
State:
Address 2:
Email (required):
Free trial offer valid for US subscribers only. Canadian subscriptions | International subscriptions